Current Events

New Commission Members

Jul 27, 2018

Riley County Community Corrections Director Appointed to the Kansas Sentencing Commission

photo of Shelly WilliamsTOPEKA – July 27, 2018 - The Kansas Sentencing Commission (KSSC) is pleased to announce that Shelly Williams, Riley County Community Corrections Director, has been appointed to a two-year term by Governor Jeff Colyer to represent community corrections on the 17-member commission. She replaces Meredith Butler, former 8th Judicial District Director of Community Corrections.

Ms. Williams started her corrections career in January 1993 in Great Bend, Kansas, with Central Kansas Community Corrections as an Adult Intensive Supervision Officer. In 1994, she moved to Manhattan, Kansas, working for Riley County Community Corrections, first as an Adult then Juvenile Intensive Supervision Officer. She was later promoted to the Juvenile Services Supervisor and has been the Director of the agency since 2008. Shelly is a 24-year employee of Riley County Community Corrections. 

She is also active in the community, serving on the Boys and Girls Club Board of Directors for four years, Junior League of the Flint Hills for five years, Past Chair of the Education Committee for the First United Methodist Church and Past Treasurer for the Kansas Community Corrections Association.

KSSC Executive Director Scott Schultz said, “Having engaged commission members has been a hallmark of the Sentencing Commission for many years. It allows us to forward sound, data-driven criminal justice policies. With Shelly’s extensive experience, I am confident that she will contribute to that engagement and community corrections stakeholders will be well-represented at our monthly meetings.”

About the Kansas Sentencing Commission

The KSSC is a governmental criminal justice agency in the state of Kansas charged with developing and maintaining a monitoring system that allows for comprehensive evaluation of the sentencing guidelines in Kansas. It is the only agency that forecasts the state's adult offender populations incarcerated in state institutions and determines the impact of proposed legislation on the prison population. Core to its mission is educating and training judges, attorneys, probation officers, law enforcement officials and other criminal justice stakeholders in the understanding and application of sentencing guidelines. The KSSC serves as a valuable criminal justice resource for the Governor, Kansas Legislature, various state criminal justice agencies and administers the SB 123 substance abuse treatment program for those offenders ordered to treatment by the district court. For more information visit

Chief Justice Lawton R. Nuss announced that he has appointed Court of Appeals Judge Stephen D. Hill and District Judge Benjamin J. Sexton to the Kansas Sentencing Commission, effective July 1, 2018, for a two-year term.

photo of Honorable.Stephen.D.HillHonorable Stephen D. Hill

Judge Stephen D. Hill lives with his wife, Sandra, in Topeka.  He attended Washburn University School of Law, receiving a J.D. degree in 1975.  After that, Hill started his own firm of Hill & Wisler and engaged in private practice in Mound City, Kansas until he became Linn County Attorney in 1976.  After serving a term as county attorney, Gov. John Carlin appointed Hill as District Judge for the Sixth Judicial District in Kansas in 1981.  Then in 2003, Gov. Kathleen Sebelius appointed him to the Kansas Court of Appeals where he currently serves.

Judge Hill speaks at many continuing legal and judicial education presentations in Kansas and on occasion at the Judicial College in Reno, Nevada.  His topics include such subjects as ethics for lawyers and judges, the law and procedure of contempt proceedings, decision-making, appellate brief writing and oral argument.  Judge Hill also speaks often to civic groups and organizations, telling about Kansas courts and the law.   

Judge Hill also served as Chair of the PIK Committee, a subcommittee of the Judicial Council, from June 2003 to June 2012. Judge Hill replaces Court of Appeals Judge Patrick McAnany, who has served on the Commission since 2010.

photo of Hon.Benjamin.J.SextonHonorable Benjamin J. Sexton

Judge Benjamin J. Sexton was appointed by Governor Bill Graves has served as a district judge since 2001 in the 8th Judicial District. He presides over cases in Dickinson (Geary, Dickinson, Marion and Morris counties).

Judge Sexton joins Judge Lee Fowler of Lyon County, as one of two district judges appointed by the Chief Justice to the Commission.  Judge Sexton attended Kansas State University and received his B.S. in 1983. In 1986, he received a J.D. at Washburn University and then practiced law until 2001. Judge Sexton replaces Judge Evelyn Wilson, who has served as chair of the Commission since 2012.