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Operating an Aircraft Under the 

Influence

 Creates the crime of Operating an Aircraft Under the Influence 

 The bill defines “operating an aircraft under the influence” as operating or 
attempting to operate any aircraft within Kansas while:

 The alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath, as shown by any 
competent evidence, including other competent evidence, is 0.04 or more; 

 The alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath, as measured within 
four hours of the time of operating or attempting to operate an aircraft, is 0.04 or 
more; 

 Under the influence of alcohol to a degree that renders the person incapable of 
safely operating an aircraft; 

 Under the influence of any drug or combination of drugs to a degree that renders 
the person incapable of safely operating an aircraft; or 

 Under the influence of a combination of alcohol and any drug or drugs to a 
degree that renders the person incapable of safely operating an aircraft. 
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Operating an Aircraft Under the 

Influence Penalties
 Class A nonperson misdemeanor, unless it occurs while the person convicted is prohibited from 

operating an aircraft by a court order pursuant to the bill or because the person’s pilot license is 
revoked or suspended by order of the Federal Aviation Administration for a prior alcohol or drug-
related conviction, in which case it is a severity level 6 nonperson felony. 

 Penalty provisions for misdemeanor and felony offenses are in the bill

 As part of the judgment of conviction, the court must order the person convicted not to operate an 
aircraft for any purposes for six months from the date of final discharge from the county jail, or the date 
of payment or satisfaction of a fine, whichever is later, or one year from such date on a second 
conviction. If the court suspends the sentence and places the person on probation, the court must 
order as a condition of probation that the person not operate an aircraft for any purpose for a period 
of 30 days from the date of the order on a first conviction or 60 days from the date of the order on a 
second conviction. In determining the number of occurrences of the offense, a conviction will include 
entering into a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings on a complaint alleging 
commission of operating an aircraft under the influence, and it will be irrelevant whether an offense 

occurred before or after conviction or diversion for a previous offense. 

 If a person is charged with a violation of the offense involving drugs, the fact that the person is or 

has been entitled to use the drug under Kansas law shall not constitute a defense against the 

charge. 
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Reinstatement of Driver’s License
 The bill creates law allowing a person whose license is restricted to operating 

only a vehicle with an IID and who meets the conditions detailed below to 
request reinstatement of the person’s driver’s license by submitting a request 
to the Division of Vehicles (Division), Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR), 
in a form and manner prescribed by the Division. The Division must approve 
such request if all of the following conditions are met: 

 The person’s IID restriction period has been extended at least five years, not 
including any period of incarceration, beyond the initial IID period required by law 
due to the person’s failure to provide the Division with proof of completion of the IID 
program; 

 During the person’s IID restriction period and any extension, the person has not had 
an alcohol or drug-related conviction or occurrence and has not been convicted 
of an IID circumvention offense in Kansas or any other jurisdiction; 

 During the person’s IID restriction period and any extension, the person has not 
been convicted of transportation of liquor in opened containers, purchase or 
consumption of alcohol by a minor, any offense listed in the statute defining a 
“habitual violator,” or two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate 
occasions; and the person’s driving privileges have not been revoked, suspended, 
canceled, or withdrawn due to another action by the Division or a court; and 

 At the time of submitting the request, the person does not have any pending 
charges or proceedings involving any of the above violations. 

6



IID Program Completion 

The bill removes a 90-day waiting period to apply for IID and various 
restrictions on driving with an IID and adds the following required 
conditions for a person to complete the IID program:

1. The person must have no more than two standard violations and 
no serious violation in the 90 consecutive days prior to application 
for reinstatement; and 

2. The application must occur upon or after expiration of the 
applicable ignition interlock period required by law. 

*There is an IID Cost Reduction Program and eligibility requirements for 
the program are listed in statute.

*Standard violations and serious violations are defined in the statute.
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DUI under 

the age of 

21; IID 

restriction 

period

The bill amends the offense of DUI under the age 
of 21 to reduce the required IID restriction period 

for a first offense with a breath or blood alcohol 

test result of 0.02 or greater but less than 0.08 from 

330 to 180 days. 
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CDL DUI Penalties

 First conviction of commercial DUI

 minimum imprisonment or public service hours requirement removed.

 Second conviction of commercial DUI 

 Requirement that the offender serve at least 48 hours of imprisonment is 

modified to remove requirements that this period be served 

consecutively and at the beginning of the overall period of 

confinement. 

 The bill specifies that an offender shall receive hour-for-hour credit in 

work release or house arrest for the minimum 120 hours of confinement 

required by the section and will then receive day-for-day credit for any 

additional confinement imposed, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 
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CDL DUI Penalties Cont’d.

 Third or subsequent conviction of commercial DUI

 Penalty increased from a non-grid, nonperson felony to a severity level 6 
nonperson felony, and reorganizes and standardizes minimum 
confinement requirements, setting the required minimum confinement 
as 30 days.

 The bill specifies that an offender shall receive hour-for-hour credit in 
work release or house arrest for the first 240 hours of confinement 
required by these provisions and will then receive day-for day credit for 
subsequent confinement, unless otherwise ordered by the court. The bill 
removes postrelease supervision provisions that could conflict with the 
general postrelease supervision conditions that will now apply to the 
offense as a severity level 6 nonperson felony.

 The bill gives a court discretion to waive any portion of a fine imposed 
for commercial DUI, except for $250 required to be remitted to the State 
Treasurer and credited to the Community Correction Supervision Fund 
upon a showing the offender successfully completed court-ordered 
education or treatment. 
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CDL Lifetime Disqualification 

 The bill amends the statute governing disqualification from driving a 

commercial motor vehicle to specify that a continuing provision for lifetime 

disqualification upon a second or subsequent occurrence of certain specific 

offenses, test refusals, or test failures (second offense lifetime disqualification) 
applies to occurrences arising from two or more separate incidents occurring 

on or after July 1, 2003. If a person is disqualified for life under this provision, 

and at least one of the disqualifying incidents occurred prior to July 1, 2003, 

the bill will allow the person to apply to the Secretary for review of the 

incidents and modification of the disqualification.

 The bill replaces a provision allowing the Secretary to adopt rules and 

regulations establishing guidelines under which a second offense lifetime 

disqualification may be reduced to a period of not less than ten years with a 
provision requiring any person with a second offense lifetime disqualification 

who seeks to have commercial driving privileges restored after ten years of 

disqualification to apply in writing to the Division.
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CDL Lifetime Disqualification 

Cont’d.
 The bill requires the Division to restore the person’s commercial driving privileges if:

 the Division determines none of the occurrences leading to lifetime disqualification included DUI or commercial 
DUI; 

 the person has not had an occurrence of certain specific offenses, test refusal, or test failure during the 10-year 
period preceding application;

 the person has had no alcohol-or drug-related convictions during the 10-year period preceding the application; 

 the person has no pending alcohol-or drug-related criminal charges;

 the person has had no convictions for violations that occurred while operating a commercial motor vehicle 
during the 10-year period preceding application;

 the person has successfully completed an alcohol or drug treatment or comparable program that meets or 
exceeds the minimum standards approved by the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services if any of 
the disqualifying offenses were drug or alcohol related; 

 the person is no longer a threat to the public safety of Kansas. The Division may request, and the person would 
be required to provide, any additional information or documentation the Division deems necessary to 
determine the person’s fitness for relicensure; 

 the person is otherwise eligible for licensure; 

 and the person has not previously been restored to commercial motor vehicle privileges following a prior 10-
year minimum disqualification. 
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DUI Penalties

 First conviction of DUI 

 Requirement of minimum imprisonment or public service hours removed

 Second conviction of DUI 

 48 hour imprisonment requirement is modified to remove requirements 

that this period be served consecutively and at the beginning of the 

overall period of confinement. 

 Hour-for-hour credit in work release or house arrest for the minimum 120 

hours of confinement required by the section and will then receive day-

for-day credit for any additional confinement, unless otherwise ordered 

by the court.

 Third conviction of DUI (misdemeanor)

 30 days custody, 48 consecutive mandatory then hour for hour to 240 

and day for day thereafter.
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DUI Penalties Cont’d.

 Third conviction of DUI and fourth or subsequent conviction of DUI

 The bill increases the penalty for a third conviction if the person has a 
prior conviction within the preceding 10 years (not including any period 
of incarceration) or a fourth or subsequent conviction of DUI from a non-
grid, nonperson felony to a severity level 6 nonperson felony, and 
accordingly removes specific imprisonment and fine requirements.

 The bill also amends provisions regarding imprisonment at a state facility 
for the felony offense and related responsibilities of a sheriff to reflect 
the amendment making the penalty a sentencing guidelines offense, 
rather than a non-grid felony. 

 Additionally, the bill removes the felony offense from postrelease
supervision provisions that could conflict with the general postrelease
supervision conditions that will now apply to the offense as a felony on 
the sentencing grid. 
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DUI Penalties Cont’d.

 Third conviction of DUI and fourth or subsequent conviction of DUI

 The bill amends the penalties for a third conviction of DUI, a third 
conviction of DUI with a prior conviction within the preceding 10 years, 
and a fourth or subsequent conviction to reorganize and standardize 
minimum confinement requirements, setting the required minimum 
confinement as 30 days. The bill specifies that an offender shall receive 
hour for-hour credit in work release or house arrest for the first 240 hours 
of confinement required by these provisions and will then receive day-
for-day credit for subsequent confinement, unless otherwise ordered by 
the court. 

 Court given discretion to waive any portion of a fine imposed for DUI, 
except for $250 required to be remitted to the State Treasurer and 
credited to the Community Correction Supervision Fund, upon a 
showing the offender successfully completed court-ordered education 
or treatment. 

15



16

Please explain 

the hour for 

hour credit for 

house arrest.

FAQ 
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Does probation start 
on the date of 
sentence or upon 
completion of 
mandatory jail 
and/or house arrest?



DUI Plea Bargaining

 Plea Bargaining

 Clarifies that amendment or dismissal of any charge is allowed where the admissible evidence is not sufficient 
to support a conviction beyond a reasonable doubt on such charge. 

 No masking, deferred imposition of judgement or diversion of conviction that would prevent a commercial 
learner's permit or CDL conviction from showing up on CDLIS record

 Applies to violation of a state or local traffic control law that occurred in any type of motor vehicle, regardless of 
whether the driver was convicted for an offense committed in the state where the driver is licensed or in any 
other state.

 The bill states this provision would not apply to parking, vehicle weight, or vehicle defect violations. 

 Diversion

 No diversion for CDL holder (at the time of the violation or at any subsequent time prior to being considered 
for diversion)

 Doesn’t matter if in personal vehicle when DUI occurs

 A statute prohibiting certain diversions for CDL holders is amended to prohibit a prosecuting attorney from 
masking or deferring imposition of judgment or allowing an individual to enter into a diversion that would prevent 
a commercial learner’s permit or CDL holder’s conviction from appearing on the Commercial Driver’s License 
Information System (CDLIS) driver record of any violation of a state or local traffic control law that occurred in 
any type of motor vehicle, and this provision will apply regardless of whether the driver was convicted for an 
offense committed in the state where the driver is licensed or in any other state. The bill states this provision would 
not apply to parking, vehicle weight, or vehicle defect violations. 

 Diversion is allowed in a personal injury crash where defendant was the only one injured
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1st conviction DUI/ Class B misdemeanor

48 hours to 6 months in jail

$750-$1,000 fine

No mandatory jail time

Drug/ alcohol evaluation

2nd conviction DUI/ Class A misdemeanor

90 days to 1 year in jail

$1,250-$1,750 fine

Mandatory 48 hours imprisonment (may be served 

consecutively) minimum 120 hours of work release or house 

arrest, or any combination thereof

Drug/ alcohol evaluation

3rd conviction outside 10 years of prior conviction 

DUI/ Class A misdemeanor

90 days to 1 year in jail

$1,750-$2,500 fine

Mandatory 30 days in jail/ 48 hours imprisonment minimum 

240 hours work release or house arrest, or any combination 

thereof. Thereafter, day-for-day credit for time served in 

program

Post-imprisonment Supervision (PIS)

Risk/Needs (R/N) Assessment (LSI-R/ WRNA)

Care Coordinator required

3rd conviction DUI within 10 years of prior conviction 

and 4th or sub./ Severity level 6 nonperson felony

Mandatory 30 days in jail/ 48 hours consecutive 

imprisonment, minimum 240 hours work release or house 

arrest, or any combination thereof. Thereafter, day-for-day 

credit for time served in program

No mandatory fine, but up to $100,000 (SL6) 24 Months PRS 

No R/N assessment / No Care Coordinator

Changes

*No mandatory 

consecutive jail time for  

1st time DUI

* Drug/Alcohol Eval for 

1st and 2nd time DUI 

only

*At least 48 hours 

imprisonment for 2nd 

time DUI Does need to 

be consecutive

*PIS only for 3rd time 

misdemeanor DUI

*No mandated fine on 

SL6 felony for 3rd and 

subsequent DUI

*Grid postrelease for SL6 

on felony DUI

*Court can waive any 

portion of fine (except 

$250 for CCSF)

* LSI-R prior to 6/30/2021 

occurrence of crime of 

conviction, or the LS/CMI 

for males and the WRNA 

for females on or after 

7/1/2021

Sentencing court should apply the version of DUI statute in effect at the time of sentencing, unless the legislature amended the statutory provisions 

after the offense was committed, and that amendment increases the defendant's penalty. State v. Patton, 315 Kan. , 503 P.3d 1022 (2022).

1st conviction DUI/ Class B misdemeanor

48 hours to 6 months in jail

$750-$1,000 fine

Mandatory consecutive 48 hours as a condition of 

probation or 100 hours of community service

House arrest possible (but only after 48 hours)

2nd conviction DUI/ Class A misdemeanor

90 days to 1 year in jail

$1,250-$1,750 fine

Mandatory 5 days in jail/ or 48 hours consecutive in 

jail followed by 120 hours work release or house 

arrest 

3rd conviction DUI outside 10 years of prior 

conviction/ Class A misdemeanor

90 days to 1 year in jail

$1,750-$2,500 fine

Mandatory 90 days in jail/ 48 hours in jail followed by 

2,160 hours work release or house arrest 

Risks/Needs (R/N) assessment (LSI-R)

Care Coordinator required

3rd conviction within 10 years of prior 

conviction and 4th or sub./ Felony DUI

90 days to 1 year in jail

$1,750-$2,500 fine

Mandatory 90 days in jail/ minimum 48 hours in jail 

followed by 2,160 hours work release or house arrest

R/N assessment (LSI-R)

Care Coordinator required

K.S.A. 8-1567 - DUI Laws Before and After June 30, 2022

Before/ After

Before/ After

Before/ After

Before/ After
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DISCUSSION
DUI PIS 

Changes?



Is HB 2377 

retroactive? 
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• The Kansas Supreme Court recently held that a sentencing court 

should apply the version of the DUI statute, K.S.A. 8-1567, in effect at 
the time of sentencing unless the Legislature amended the statutory 

provisions after the offense was committed and that amendment 

increases the defendant's penalty (or otherwise disadvantages the 

defendant as contemplated in Beazell). See State v. Patton, 503 
P.3d 1022, 1032 (Kan. February 11, 2022). In those circumstances, the 

sentencing court must apply the law in effect when the offense was 

committed. Id.



How do you score prior 
DUI convictions?
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Scoring Prior DUI Convictions 

 Out of state convictions can be counted in determining whether 

the DUI conviction is the second, third, fourth or greater. This applies 
to DUI and Commercial DUI. 

 For the purposes of determining whether an offense is comparable, 

the following shall be considered: 1. The name of the out-of-

jurisdiction offense; 2. The elements of the out-of-jurisdiction offense; 

and 3. Whether the out-of-jurisdiction offense prohibits similar 

conduct to the conduct prohibited by the closest approximate 

Kansas offense. K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 8-1567(j) and K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 8-

2,144(o).

24



State v. 

Mejia

 Defendant had 3 prior Missouri convictions that 
were used to elevate the DUI from a 

misdemeanor to a felony

 The Court of Appeals ruled that the holding in 

Wetrich does not apply to DUI cases because 
the Legislature has amended K.S.A. 8-1567 to 

permit charging and sentencing 

enhancements for DUIs based on out-of-

state convictions under statutes that are 

comparable to Kansas law—meaning “similar 

to” rather than the same as or narrower than 

Kansas law. See State v. Mejia, 58 Kan.App.2d 

229, 229, 466 P.3d 1217 at *1 (Kan. App. 
2020)(rev. denied September 29, 2020).
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Is there a 
lifetime 
lookback on 
DUI offenses?
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More

Webinar 

Registration 

FAQ 
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How does this legislation 
impact care coordination 
services with RADAC/SACK 
and funding for treatment?  
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Is the previous 
mandated treatment 
still in effect for felony 
DUI Convictions? If 
so, is it still paid for by 
the state? 
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If treatment is 
completed after 
offense date, but prior 
to sentencing, and no 
treatment rec on 
risk/needs can fine be 
waived? 
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31

How will these 

changes affect  

Community 

Corrections?
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Is it required that a 
person take an 8 

hour education  
class if they get 

convicted of DUI? 



Will the 
sentences for 
habitual violators 
be lengthened?
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Who supervises 

the 3rd DUI if no 

R/N Assessment 

required?



How do the PSI and 
JE look different 

now?

https://cdn.oits.ks.gov/media/docs/sentencinglibraries/forms/2022/psi-2022/2022_psi-complete.highlighted.pdf?sfvrsn=a58da57a_3
https://cdn.oits.ks.gov/media/docs/sentencinglibraries/forms/2022/je-2022/2022_je-complete.highlighted.pdf?sfvrsn=d278f39f_3


QUESTIONS? 
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KSSC Resources 

Francis Givens

•Francis.givens@ks.gov

KSGA Questions

•KSSCAttorney@ks.gov 
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