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July 1, 1993 

 The Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act (KSGA), at K.S.A. 21-4701 et seq., became law. 
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March 24, 1994 

 The limited retroactivity provision of the KSGA found at K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 22-3717(f) was 

repealed.  On March 24, 1994, K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 22-3717(f) was amended so that pre-guideline 

sentences would not be converted if new crimes were committed while an offender was on parole.  This 

provision had allowed offenders on parole from an indeterminate sentence(s) to have their indeterminate 

sentence(s) converted to a determinate sentence under the KSGA, if they were convicted of a new crime 

while out on parole.   

 

 K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-4603d (Authorized dispositions) and 22-3717 (Parole or postrelease) were 

amended to eliminate the requirement that felony probation, parole, postrelease supervision, community 

corrections, or conditional release must be revoked due to a new conviction for a crime committed on 

one of these statutes and before a nondeparture term of imprisonment may be imposed for the new 

conviction, if a nonprison sanction is otherwise the presumed sentencing disposition. 

July 1, 1994 

 K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-4704 (Sentencing guidelines, nondrug grid) was amended to provide that 

Felony Driving Under Influence (DUI) offenses committed on or after this date are nongrid crimes with 

no guidelines severity level.  The sentencing for such offenses is to be governed exclusively by the 

penalty provisions of K.S.A. 1994 Supp. 8-1567.  Thus a felony DUI conviction can no longer result in a 

state prison sentence. 

 

 K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-4704 was further amended to double the presumptive durations of 

sentences for crimes committed on or after this date for cases which fall in severity levels 1 thru 5 on the 

nondrug grid and within criminal history categories A and B.   

April 20, 1995 

 K.S.A. 1994 Supp. 21-4706 (Sentencing) and 21-4722 (Good time credit) were amended.  For 

crimes committed on or after this date, inmates can earn only 15% “good time” credit by which the 

prison portion of their guidelines sentence can be reduced.  Prior to this date an inmate could earn up to a 

20% reduction for “good time.”  

 

 K.S.A. 1994 Supp. 75-5217 (Violation of conditions of release) was amended.  For crimes 

committed on or after this date, the term of imprisonment for technical violations of the conditions of 

postrelease supervision will be 180 days, subject to a reduction of up to 90 days for good behavior. 

 

 K.S.A. 1994 Supp. 22-3717 (Parole or postrelease) was amended.  For crimes committed on or 

after this date, the postrelease supervision term for crimes in nondrug severity levels 1 thru 6 and drug 

severity levels 1 thru 3, will be 36 months; the term for crimes in nondrug severity levels 7 thru 10 and 

drug severity level 4, will be 24 months.  The postrelease term can be reduced by up to 12 months for 

good behavior. 

July 1, 1996 

 K.S.A. 21-4714 (Presentence Investigation Report), 22-3426 (Record of Judgment), and 22-

3426a (Revocation of Probation), were amended to provide that all Presentence Investigation Report, 

Journal Entry of Judgment and Journal Entry of Probation Revocation Hearing forms are required to be 

on a form approved by the Kansas Sentencing Commission. 

 

 K.S.A. 21-4704 (Sentencing guidelines, nondrug grid) was amended to double the presumptive 
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sentence lengths for all nondrug grid severity level 1 and 2 crimes.  “Border Boxes” were added to the 

drug grid at levels 3-E, 3-F, 3-G, 3-H, 3-I, 4-E and 4-F. 

 

 K.S.A. 21-4705 (Sentencing guidelines, drug grid) subsection (c) the pre-guidelines sentence 

conversion provision, commonly referred to as the “small sale of marijuana exception” was repealed. 

May 29, 1997 

 K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 21-4705(c) (Sentencing guidelines, drug grid) was amended and the 

sentencing court is prohibited from distinguishing between cocaine base (904 1 L000) and cocaine 

hydrochloride (904 1 L005), when sentencing within the sentencing range of the grid block. 

July 1, 1998 

 K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 22-3717 (Parole or postrelease) was amended to require that the conviction 

carrying the longest postrelease supervision period takes precedence when deciding which postrelease 

term will be controlling in a multiple conviction case.  The 60 months postrelease term for sex crimes 

may be imposed in a multiple conviction case, even though the sex crime may not have been the crime 

with the highest severity level. 

 

 K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 21-4603d(a) (Authorized dispositions) was amended.  Prior to imposing a 

dispositional departure for an offender whose offense is classified in the presumptive nonprison grid 

block of either sentencing guideline grid; or prior to the sentencing of an offender to incarceration whose 

offense is classified in grid blocks 5-H, 5-I, or 6-G of the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes 

or in grid blocks 3-E, 3-F, 3-G, 3-H, 4-E or 4-F of the sentencing guidelines grid for drug crimes; or 

prior to the revocation of a nonprison sanction of an offender whose offense is classified in the 

presumptive nonprison grid block of either sentencing guideline grid or grid blocks 5-H, 5-I or 6-G of 

the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes or in grid blocks 3-E, 3-F, 3-G, 3-H, 3-I, 4-E or 4-F of 

the sentencing guidelines grid for drug crimes, the sentencing court shall consider placement of the 

offender in the Labette Correctional Conservation Camp, conservation camps established by the Kansas 

Secretary of Corrections pursuant to K.S.A. 75-52,127 and amendments thereto, or to a community 

intermediate sanction center. 

 Pursuant to this statute, the offender shall not be sentenced to imprisonment if space is available 

in a conservation camp, or to a community intermediate sanction center and the offender meets all the 

conservation camp’s or the community intermediate sanction center’s placement criteria, unless the 

sentencing court states on the record the reasons for not placing the offender in a conservation camp or a 

community intermediate sanction center. 

July 1, 1999 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 8-262(a)(1)(C) (Driving while license canceled, suspended or revoked) was 

amended to eliminate the felony provision for a third or subsequent conviction for driving on a 

suspended license.  Hereafter a second or subsequent conviction for driving while suspended under 

K.S.A. 8-262 will be a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 

 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 8-287 (Habitual Violator) was amended to change the penalty from a severity 

level 9 nonperson felony to a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 

 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 21-3402(a) (Intentional murder in the second degree) was amended to move it 

from an off-grid (Hard 10) offense to a nondrug grid severity level 1 person felony. 

 



KSG Desk Reference Manual 2014 
Page 4 of 49 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 21-4603d(a) (Authorized dispositions) was further amended to create a new 

special sentencing rule that provides the sentencing court with the discretion to sentence an offender to 

imprisonment for a new conviction committed while the offender was on felony bond, even if the 

offender’s new crime and criminal history classification would otherwise presume a nonprison sentence.  

Further, a decision by the sentencing court to order an imprisonment sentence in this type of case does 

not constitute a departure.  

  

K.S.A. 21-4638 (Mandatory 40 or 50 years imprisonment) was likewise amended to allow for the 

sentence length increase from the “Hard 40" to the “Hard 50.”  This amended statute makes it clear that a 

person sentenced to the “Hard 50" shall not be eligible for parole prior to serving 50 years imprisonment, 

and such 50 years imprisonment shall not be reduced by the application of good time credits. 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 21-4704 (Sentencing guidelines, nondrug grid) was amended and important 

changes include: (1) The presumptive sentence lengths for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1999, 

which have sentences on severity levels 1 and 2 of the nondrug grid are decreased by 20 percent; (2) the 

presumptive sentence lengths for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1999, which have sentences on 

severity level 3 of the nondrug grid are increased by 20 percent; (3) subsection (i) of the statute is 

amended to clarify that sentences for felony domestic battery [K.S.A. 21-3412(c)(3)], shall not be served 

in a state facility in the custody of the secretary of corrections; and (4) a new subsection (l) is added to 

the statute which creates a new special sentencing rule requiring that a sentence for the commission of 

the burglary of a residence, [K.S.A. 21-3715(a)], shall be presumed imprisonment if the person being 

sentenced has a prior conviction for burglary of a residence, or a non-residence under subsections (a) or 

(b) of K.S.A. 21-3715, or a prior conviction for aggravated burglary under K.S.A. 21-3716. 

 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 21-4711(a) (Criminal history classification) which contains the criminal 

history aggregation factor for prior convictions for assault, or juvenile adjudications for assault, was 

amended to clarify that “every three prior adult convictions or juvenile adjudications of assault as 

defined by K.S.A. 21-3408 and amendments thereto, occurring within a period commencing three years 

prior to the date of conviction for the current crime of conviction shall be rated as one adult conviction 

or one juvenile adjudication of a person felony for criminal history purposes.” 

 

 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 22-3717(b)(2) (Parole or postrelease) was amended to increase the length of 

the off-grid 15 years “life” sentence to 20 years before an offender was eligible for parole for qualifying 

crimes committed on or after July 1, 1999.  Subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 22-3711 was also 

amended, for the purpose of specifying that the prior off-grid “Hard 10" life sentence for intentional 

second degree murder shall not apply to crimes committed on or after July 1, 1999. 

 

 K.S.A. 21-3522 created the crime of Unlawful Voluntary Sexual Relations, a.k.a. the “Romeo 

and Juliet” statute.  Under this statute, unlawful voluntary sexual relations is engaging in voluntary 

sexual intercourse, sodomy, or lewd fondling or touching with a child who is 14 years of age but less 

than 16 years of age when the offender is less than 19 years of age and less than four years of age older 

than the child and the child and the offender are the only parties involved and of the opposite sex.  

Pursuant to this statute, unlawful voluntary sexual relations involving sexual intercourse is a severity 

level 8 person felony, unlawful voluntary sexual relations involving sodomy is a severity level 9 person 

felony and unlawful voluntary sexual relations involving lewd fondling or touching is a severity level 10 

person felony.   

 NOTE:  K.S.A. 21-3522 (Unlawful voluntary sexual relations) is not listed as a crime requiring 

 registration under the Kansas Offender Registration Act at K.S.A. 22-4902.   
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 K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 65-4159(b) (Unlawful manufacturing) was amended to provide that a 

violation of the prohibition against the manufacture of a controlled substance shall be a drug grid 

severity level 1 felony.  Previously a first conviction under K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 65-4159 was a drug grid 

severity level 2 felony, and a second or subsequent conviction carried a drug grid severity level 1 

penalty. 

 

K.S.A. 1998 Supp. 21-4705 (Sentencing guidelines, drug grid) was amended by the addition of a new 

subsection (e) that created a special rule for the sentencing of second or subsequent convictions for the 

manufacture of a controlled substance under K.S.A. 65-4159.  Under this special sentencing rule a 

second or subsequent violation would be a drug grid severity level 1 offense, but the sentencing court 

would be required to double the presumptive sentence length.  However, the special rule permits the 

sentencing court to order a reduction of not to exceed 50 percent of the mandatory sentence length 

increase if mitigating circumstances exist.  Any decision made by the sentencing court regarding the 

allowed reduction would not be considered a departure and would not be subject to appeal. 

April 6, 2000 

 K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 75-5217 (Violation of condition of release) was amended to add language at 

subsection (d) of the statute to state that if a violation of postrelease supervision “results from a 

conviction for a new misdemeanor, upon revocation, the inmate shall serve a period of confinement, to 

be determined by the Kansas parole board, which shall not exceed the remaining balance of the period of 

postrelease supervision.” 

May 25, 2000 

House Substitute for Senate Bill 323 

 K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 21-4603 (Authorized dispositions, crimes before July 1, 1993) was amended 

to increase the amount of time an offender could be sentenced to county jail as a condition of an original 

probation was increased from the current 30 days to 60 days.  In addition, an offender could also be 

sentenced to 60 days jail time for each probation revocation. The increase in county jail time was not 

retroactive. 

 

 K.S.A. 22-3716(b) (Violation of probation conditions, revocation) was amended to provide that 

condition probation violators were required to be placed in a Community Corrections program at least 

once prior to a revocation resulting in an offender’s placement in a state correctional facility.  However, 

a public safety exception was included which would authorize direct placement in a state correctional 

facility if the court finds and sets forth with particularity the reasons for finding the safety of the 

members of the public will be jeopardized or the welfare of the inmate will not be served by assignment 

to community correctional services.  The provision requiring mandatory placement in Community 

Corrections was not retroactive.   

 Subsection (e) was added to provide that condition probation violators who were subject to a 

probation revocation that resulted in the imposition of the underlying prison sentence to be served in a 

state correctional facility, would not be placed on a period of postrelease supervision upon their release 

from prison.  Exceptions to this provision include: 

1. An offender sentenced to a nonprison sanction pursuant to a dispositional departure. 

2. An offender sentenced to a nonprison sanction and whose offense falls within a border box of 

either sentencing grid. 

3. An offender sentenced for a sexually violent offense as defined in K.S.A. 22-3717. 

4. An offender whose nonprison sanction was revoked as a result of a conviction for a new 
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misdemeanor or felony offense. 

5. Offenders who are serving or are to begin serving a sentence for any other felony offense that 

is not excluded from postrelease supervision by this subsection on the effective date of this 

subsection.  

This provision was to be applied retroactively to any offender sentenced under the Kansas 

Sentencing Guidelines Act and the Kansas Department of Corrections was to discharge all eligible 

offenders from postrelease supervision by September 1, 2000.  

  

  

  

 

K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 21-4611 (Probation duration) was amended to provide the recommended length of 

probation as follows: 

Severity 

Levels 

1 

 

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 

Nondrug  36 36 36 36 36 24 24 18 12 12 

Drug 36 36 18 12 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

* Recommended probation length in months; amended terms in italics. 

 

In addition, a public safety provision was added which provides the court with the discretion to 

impose a longer probation period, if it sets forth with particularity the reasons for finding that the safety 

of the public will be jeopardized or that the welfare of the inmate will not be served by the length of the 

probation terms as provided.  Such an increase is not considered a departure nor is it subject to appeal.  

This change in probation terms was to be applied retroactively and the deadline for all 

conversions or modifications to prior probation sentences was September 1, 2000.  

 

 K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 22-3717 (Parole or postrelease) was amended to provide the length of 

postrelease supervision as follows:   

Severity 

Levels 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 

Nondrug 36 36 36 36 24 24 12 12 12 12 

Drug 36 36 24 12 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

* Mandatory postrelease supervision length in months; amended terms in italics. 

 

 These terms are mandatory unless the judge finds substantial and compelling reasons to impose a 

departure and states such on the record at the time of sentencing.  The modified periods of postrelease 

supervision were eligible for the same good time reduction in supervision periods as set forth in the 

current statute. 

This change in postrelease supervision terms was to be applied retroactively with conversions 

completed pursuant to the phase-in implementation schedule provided.  All conversions were to be 

completed by January 1, 2001.   

  

 K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 75-5291 (Community correctional services) was amended to define the target 

offender population for Community Corrections programs.  Adult offenders convicted of felony offenses 

who met one of the following criteria were to be eligible for placement in Community Corrections: 

 Offenders whose sentence fell within the designated border boxes on both the drug and 

nondrug sentencing grids; 

 Offenders whose sentence fell within nondrug grid blocks 6-H, 6-I, 7-C, 7-D, 7-E, 7-F, 7- G, 
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7-H, or 7-I; 

 Offenders whose severity level and criminal history classification designated a presumptive 

prison sentence but received a nonprison sentence as the result of a dispositional departure; 

 Offenders who received a nonprison sentence and were convicted of a severity level 7 or 

higher sex offense as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, regardless of the manner in which the 

sentence was imposed; 

 Any offender who violated conditions of release, or assignment, or a presumptive nonprison 

sentence prior to revocation to a state correctional facility; 

 Any offender determined to be high risk or needs, or both by the use of a statewide 

mandatory standardized risk assessment tool, or instrument validated for Community 

Corrections placement; (A validated risk assessment tool would be provided by the Kansas 

Department of Corrections); or  

 Any offender who successfully completed an assignment to a conservation camp program. 

Subsection (a)(3) was added to provide that juvenile offenders may be placed in Community 

Corrections programs if the local Community Corrections Advisory Board approves, however, grants 

from the Community Corrections Fund administered by the Kansas Secretary of Corrections shall not be 

used for this service. 

 Subsection (a)(4) was added to provide that the court may require an offender for whom a 

violation of a condition of release or assignment or a nonprison sanction has been established pursuant to 

K.S.A. 22-3716, to be placed directly in the custody of secretary of corrections without prior assignment 

to community correctional services program if the court finds and sets forth with particularity the reasons 

for finding the safety of the members of the public will be jeopardized or the welfare of the inmate will 

not be served by such assignment to community correctional services. 

The provisions herein were not retroactive. 

July 1, 2000 

K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 21-4720(b) (Sentencing multiple convictions) was amended for situations 

where an offender was convicted and sentenced in a multiple conviction case, then the primary crime of 

conviction was reversed on appeal, but other convictions in the case are affirmed.  In such a case the 

appellate court was to remand the case for resentencing and the sentencing court would assign a new 

primary crime, use the offender’s full criminal history score for that primary crime and resentence the 

offender.   

 

A new aggravating departure factor was created for both the nondrug grid (K.S.A. 21-4716) and 

the drug grid (K.S.A. 21-4717) for those cases where the defendant/offender was incarcerated during the 

commission of the offense.   

July 1, 2001 

 K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 8-1567 (Driving under the influence) was amended to make fourth and 

subsequent DUI convictions subject to a sentence of from 90 days to 1 year in a county jail, with the jail 

portion of 72 hours being mandatory incarceration, the remainder of the 90 days eligible for a work 

release program.  After serving this sentence, an offender would be placed in a treatment program under 

the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections (KDOC). Upon completion of the 

treatment program, an offender would be placed in an after care program approved by the Kansas Parole 

Board for a period of 12 months.  An offender who violates the conditions of the aftercare program is 

treated as a condition violator and subject to imprisonment in a KDOC facility for up to 6 months. 

 The 5 year “decay” rule limiting an offender’s DUI convictions to only those which occurred 

within the past 5 years as counting for an offender’s first, second or third offense was deleted.  All prior 



KSG Desk Reference Manual 2014 
Page 8 of 49 

DUI convictions are to be included and there was no provision for retroactivity.   

 

 K.S.A. 21-4711 (Criminal history classification) was amended to include DUI convictions and 

diversion agreements from other states, and convictions under city ordinances and county resolutions as 

violations of the DUI statute for criminal history scoring under the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act. 

May 2, 2002 

 K.S.A. 21-3419 (Criminal threat) was amended to modify the present severity level 9 nonperson 

felony offense to also include threats made to endanger the food supply.  It also created the crime of 

endangering the food supply, which includes: a new class A nonperson misdemeanor offense; a new 

severity level 4 nonperson felony offense if the crime involves foot-and-mouth disease; a new severity 

level 3 nonperson felony offense if the crime is done with the intent to cause damage to plants or 

animals, or to cause economic harm or social unrest; and a new severity level 3 person felony offense if 

the crime is done with the intent to cause illness, injury, or death to a human being. 

May 23, 2002 

 K.S.A. 40-5001 through 40-5016 created the Viatical Settlement Act of 2002.  K.S.A. 40-5013 

provides the penalties for violations of this act and provides differing crime categories depending on the 

amount involved.    

Value of Viatical Settlement Contract Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

$25,000 or more. 7 F NP 

At least $500 but less than $25,000. 9 F NP 

Less than $500. A M NP 

If value of insurance premium is less than $500 and such agent or broker 

has two or more prior convictions for violating this section within five 

years immediately preceding commission of current crime.  

 

9 

 

F 

 

NP 

* Penalties for violations may include monetary penalties, suspension or revocation of license or 

certificate or an order to cease and desist from the unlawful act or practice and take affirmative action to 

carry out the purposes of the violated provisions.   

  

K.S.A. 2001 Supp. 21-3718 (Arson) was amended to create a new severity level 7 person felony 

offense for “accidentally, by means of fire or explosive as a result of manufacturing or attempting to 

manufacture a controlled substance in violation of K.S.A. 65-4159, and amendments thereto, damaging 

any building or property which is a dwelling.”  In addition, it created a new severity level 7 nonperson 

felony offense for “accidentally, by means of fire or explosive as a result of manufacturing or attempting 

to manufacture a controlled substance in violation of K.S.A. 65-4159, and amendments thereto, 

damaging any building or property which is not a dwelling.” 

 

 K.S.A. 21-3766 created the crime of tampering with a pipeline.  Under this statute, tampering 

with a pipeline, including but not limited to, any intentional unauthorized adjustment, opening, removal, 

change or destruction of any part of any pipeline, is a severity level 6 nonperson felony.    

 

 K.S.A. 8-1567 (DUI) was amended to create the offense of driving under the influence of an 

“inhalant.”  In addition, “toxic vapors” was added to the definition of “drugs” under the DUI statute so 

that a DUI offense may be prosecuted for driving under the influence of toxic vapors. 

 

 K.S.A. 2001 Supp. 21-3520 (Unlawful sexual relations) was amended to expand the definition of 
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unlawful sexual relations to include employees of a contractor that provides supervision services for 

persons on parole, conditional release, or post release supervision.  This added an additional group of 

potential offenders to the severity level 10 person felony offense under this statute.  

 

 K.S.A. 2001 Supp. 21-3438 (Stalking) was amended in subsection (b) to provide that any person 

who violates this statute when there is a Protection from Stalking Order, a temporary restraining order, or 

an injunction is in effect against the same person, is guilty of a severity level 9 person felony offense.  

Subsection (c) was amended to provide that a second or subsequent conviction of a violation of this 

statute, within seven years of a prior conviction involving the same victim, is a severity level 8 person 

felony.  

July 1, 2003 

2003 Senate Bill 123 

K.S.A. 21-4729 (Nonprison sanction, certified drug abuse treatment) was created by 2003 Senate 

Bill 123.  The goal of certified drug abuse treatment is to provide community based punishment and the 

opportunity for treatment to nonviolent adult offenders with drug abuse problems in order to more 

effectively address the revolving door of drug addicts through the state prisons, which should be reserved 

for serious, violent offenders.  Sentences under K.S.A. 21-4729 result in a drug severity level 4 

conviction and require the offender to participate in a certified drug abuse treatment program under the 

supervision of community corrections. The sentencing court shall commit the offender to treatment until 

determined suitable for discharge by the court but the term of treatment shall not exceed 18 months. 

 

K.S.A. 21-4729(a) provides the eligibility requirements for this nonprison sanction.  Eligible 

offenders are a defined target population of nonviolent adult offenders convicted of K.S.A. 65-4160 or 

65-4162 with no prior convictions of drug trafficking, drug manufacturing or drug possession with intent 

to sell.  Placement in treatment can be mandatory or by court finding that the safety of the public will not 

be jeopardized by such placement. 

A. Mandatory placement in a certified drug abuse treatment program is for adult offenders 

sentenced in the 4-E, 4-F, 4-G, 4-H, or 4-I (presumptive probation) blocks of the drug grid, with 

no prior conviction of: 

 K.S.A. 65-4142 (the unlawful acts involving proceeds derived from violations of the 

uniform substances control act statute);  

 K.S.A. 65-4159 (the unlawful manufacturing or attempting such of any controlled 

substance statute); 

 K.S.A. 65-4161 (unlawful acts relating to sale or distribution of opiates, opium, narcotic 

drugs or designated stimulants statute);  

 K.S.A. 65-4163 (the unlawful acts relating to sale or distribution of depressants, 

stimulants or hallucinogenic drugs or other substances statute); 

 K.S.A. 65-4164 (the unlawful acts relating to certain narcotic drugs statute); or 

 Any similar offenses from another jurisdiction. 

 

B. Certified drug abuse treatment with court finding is for adult offenders sentenced in the 4-A, 

4-B, 4-C, or 4-D (presumptive prison) blocks of the drug grid, with no prior conviction of: 

 K.S.A. 65-4142 (the unlawful acts involving proceeds derived from violations of the 

uniform substances control act statute);  

 K.S.A. 65-4159 (the unlawful manufacturing or attempting such of any controlled 

substance statute); 
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 K.S.A. 65-4161 (unlawful acts relating to sale or distribution of opiates, opium, narcotic 

drugs or designated stimulants statute);  

 K.S.A. 65-4163 (the unlawful acts relating to sale or distribution of depressants, 

stimulants or hallucinogenic drugs or other substances statute); 

 K.S.A. 65-4164 (the unlawful acts relating to certain narcotic drugs statute); or 

 Any similar offenses from another jurisdiction; and 

 If such person felonies committed by the offender were severity level 8, 9 or 10 or 

nongrid offenses and the sentencing court finds and sets forth with particularity, the 

reasons for finding that the safety of the members of the public will not be jeopardized by 

placement of the offender in a certified drug abuse treatment program.. 

C. Offenders with prior convictions for drug possession are eligible. 

To coincide with subsection (b), K.S.A. 2002 Supp. 21-4714 was amended to require that, as part 

of the presentence investigation, all offenders who meet the requirements of K.S.A. 21-4729 (2003 

Senate Bill 123) shall be subject to a drug abuse assessment to assess the offender’s risk of re-offending 

and the level of their substance abuse problem.  The drug abuse assessment shall include a statewide, 

mandatory, standardized risk assessment tool and an instrument validated for drug abuse treatment 

program placements and shall include a clinical interview with a mental health professional. 

 

Subsection (f) provides for offender accountability.  Offenders shall be discharged from 

treatment if the offender is convicted of a new felony other than a conviction of K.S.A. 65-4160 or 65-

4162 or the offender has a pattern of intentional conduct demonstrating the offender’s refusal to comply 

with or to participate in the treatment program, as established by a judicial finding.  An offender whose 

probation is revoked shall be subject to the revocation provisions of K.S.A. 21-4603d(n).   

K.S.A. 21-4603d(n) provides that if the offender fails to participate in or has a pattern of 

intentional conduct that demonstrates refusal to comply with or participate in the treatment 

program as established by judicial finding, the offender shall be subject to revocation of 

probation and shall serve the underlying prison sentence as established in K.S.A. 21-4705.  

Offenders who are revoked from certified treatment violate conditions of probation, i.e. the 

certified drug abuse treatment program, and thus may be subject to additional nonprison 

sanctions pursuant to K.S.A. 22-3716(f).  Such nonprison sanctions include but are not limited to: 

up to 60 days in a county jail, fines, community service, intensified treatment, house arrest and 

electronic monitoring.  

 

K.S.A. 75-52,144 was created to provide the certified drug abuse treatment program 

requirements.  Certified drug abuse treatment programs are required to provide one or more treatment 

options in the continuum of services needed to reach recovery.  Certified drug abuse treatment programs 

include a full cognitive based curriculum in addition to or as part of treatment and may include 

community based or faith based programs.  The state-wide comprehensive drug treatment delivery 

system includes a continuum of services that allows the offender to move up or down the continuum as 

the recovery process requires.  Regardless of the level of substance abuse treatment assessed, all 

treatment plans will include an aftercare component. 

It may be necessary for residential placements to be outside of an offender’s local community 

especially in rural areas, given the current limited number of facilities available and their geographic 

locations. 

Treatment providers are required to obtain Kansas Department of Corrections (KDOC) 

certification in addition to any other state licensing or certification required to provide drug and alcohol 

abuse treatment.   KDOC counselor certification is based on case management, cognitive behavior tool 

skills acquisition and facilitation ability. 
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Noted sentencing policy changes - Mandatory drug abuse treatment in lieu of incarceration resulted in 

several changes in sentencing practices for offenders convicted of drug possession.  These changes focus 

on various levels of treatment options, establishment of certain and immediate sanctions for continued 

drug usage, and a comprehensive continuum of sanctions that include offender accountability, while 

ensuring public safety.  Since this is a post conviction sentencing policy, all convictions under K.S.A. 

21-4729 (2003 Senate Bill 123) result in a felony conviction.  Current sentencing practices and 

procedures are: 

 All “pure” felony drug possession convictions are sentenced on severity level 4 of the drug grid. 

 Adult offenders with current possession convictions, criminal history 4-E to 4-I (presumptive 

probation blocks) of the drug grid, with no prior convictions of drug trafficking, drug 

manufacture or drug possession with intent to sell receive mandatory certified drug abuse 

treatment.  K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 21-4729(a)(1). 

 Adult offenders with current possession convictions, criminal history 4-A to 4-D (presumptive 

prison blocks) of the drug grid, with no prior convictions of drug trafficking, drug manufacture or 

drug possession with intent to sell are eligible for certified drug abuse treatment if the court finds 

that the placement of these offenders in a certified drug abuse treatment program will not 

jeopardize public safety.  The prior person felony convictions can only be severity level 8, 9, or 

10 or nongrid offenses.  K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 21-4729(a)(2). 

 An offender with a third or subsequent drug possession conviction who has previously completed 

at least one prior 18 month certified drug abuse treatment program or has been discharged from 

or refused to participate in such program shall be sentenced to a presumptive term of 

imprisonment as provided in the guidelines.  K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 21-4705(f). 

 Mandatory participation in a certified drug abuse treatment program for offenders sentenced 

under K.S.A. 21- 4729 (2003 Senate Bill 123) is for a term of up to 18 months.  K.S.A. 2003 

Supp. 21-4729(c). 

 Upon successful completion of a certified drug abuse treatment program, the offender will be 

discharged and not subject to a period of postrelease supervision.  K.S.A. 21-4603d(n). 

 K.S.A. 21-4729 (2003 Senate Bill 123) applies to offender with offenses committed on or after 

November 1, 2003, and is not applied retroactively.  K.S.A. 21-4729(a). 

July 1, 2004 

K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 21-4635 (Mandatory 40 years, 50 years or life imprisonment) was amended to 

create the new sentence of life imprisonment without the possibility of parole.  A defendant convicted of 

capital murder, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3439, and amendments thereto, where a sentence of death is not 

imposed, will be sentenced to life imprisonment without the possibility of parole.  A defendant sentenced 

to life imprisonment without the possibility of parole is not eligible for parole, probation, assignment to a 

community correctional service program, conditional release, postrelease supervision, or suspension, 

modification or reduction of sentence.  The sentence of death or life imprisonment without the possibility 

of parole does not apply to juveniles or those determined to be mentally retarded. 

 

 K.S.A. 22-5101 created the Kansas Criminal Justice Recodification, Rehabilitation, and 

Restoration Project (3 R’s Committee).  This project is designed to recodify the criminal code, identify 

ways to rehabilitate offenders and work with offenders on community based supervision, and identify 

ways to restore offenders back into society as productive members. 

 

 K.S.A. 21-3608a created the crime of aggravated endangering a child, a severity level 9 person 

felony.  Aggravated endangering a child is: 
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(1)  Intentionally and recklessly causing or permitting a child under the age of 18 years to be 

placed in a situation in which the child's life, body or health is injured or endangered;  

(2)  Permitting such child to be in an environment where a person is selling, offering for sale or 

having in such person's possession with intent to sell, deliver, distribute, prescribe, administer, 

dispense, manufacture or attempt to manufacture any methamphetamine as defined by subsection 

(d)(3) or (f)(1) of K.S.A. 65-4107, and amendments thereto; or  

(3)  Permitting such child to be in an environment where drug paraphernalia or volatile, toxic or 

flammable chemicals are stored for the purpose of manufacturing or attempting to manufacture 

any methamphetamine as defined by subsection (d)(3) or (f)(1) of K.S.A. 65-4107, and 

amendments thereto.  

 

 K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 21-3701 (Theft) and K.S.A. 21-3704 (Theft of services) were amended to 

increase the threshold for a class A nonperson misdemeanor was raised from $500 to $1,000. 

June 1, 2005 

K.S.A. 65-1643 (Registration of Pharmacists; certain acts declared unlawful) was amended to 

add subsections (k) and (l).   

Subsection (k) provides that it is unlawful for any person to sell or distribute in a pharmacy a 

controlled substances designated in subsection (e) or (f) of K.S.A. 65-4113 (Substances included in 

schedule V) unless:  (1)(A) such controlled substance is sold or distributed by a licensed pharmacist, a 

registered pharmacy technician or a pharmacy intern or clerk supervised by a licensed pharmacist; and  

(B) any person receiving, purchasing or otherwise acquiring any such controlled substance produces a 

photo identification showing their date of birth and signs a log.  The log or database must be available 

for inspection during regular business hours to the board of pharmacy or any law enforcement officer; or 

(2) there is a lawful prescription. 

Subsection (l) provides that it is unlawful for any person to sell or distribute in a pharmacy four 

or more packages or containers of any controlled substance designated in subsection (e) or (f) of K.S.A. 

65-4113 to a specific customer within any seven-day period.  Violation is a misdemeanor. 

July 1, 2005 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 12-189 (Confidentiality of retailer sales tax information) was amended to 

change the penalty from a class B misdemeanor to a class A misdemeanor. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 75-5133(d) (Unlawful to divulge licensure, registration and tax information) 

was amended to change the penalty for a violation of this section from a class B nonperson misdemeanor 

to a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 79-3234(e) (Tax information; preservation; limits on dissemination and use) 

was amended to change the penalty for any violation of subsection (b) or (c) from a class B nonperson 

misdemeanor to a class A nonperson misdemeanor.   

 

K.S.A. 32-1061 through 32-1066 created the wildlife violator compact.  It shall be unlawful for 

any person whose license, privilege, or right to hunt, fish, trap, possess, or transport wildlife, having 

been suspended or revoked pursuant to the wildlife violator compact, to exercise that right or privilege 

within this state or to purchase or possess such a license which grants such right or privilege.  A person 

who knowingly violates this section shall be guilty of a class A nonperson misdemeanor and subject to a 

fine and further restrictions on such persons privileges or rights as described herein.  K.S.A. 32-1063. 
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K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 21-3707 (Giving a worthless check) was amended in subsection (e) to change 

the penalty portion of the statute. 

Description Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

Giving worthless check $25,000 or more. 7 F NP 

Giving worthless check more than once in 7 days and combined total is 

$25,000 or more. 

 

7 

 

F 

 

NP 

Giving worthless check at least $1,000 but less than $25,000. 9 F NP 

Giving worthless check more than once in 7 days and combined total is at 

least $1,000 but less than $25,000. 

 

9 

 

F 

 

NP 

Giving worthless check less than $1,000. A M NP 

Giving worthless check less than $1,000 if committed by a person who has 

two or more prior convictions for giving a worthless check within five 

years immediately preceding commission of current crime.  

 

9 

 

F 

 

NP 

* Changes noted in italics. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3446 created the crime of Trafficking; (1) Recruiting, harboring, transporting, 

providing or obtaining, by any means, another person knowing that force, fraud, threat or coercion will 

be used to cause the person to engage in forced labor or involuntary servitude; or (2) benefiting 

financially or by receiving anything of value from participation in a venture that has engaged in acts set 

forth in subsection (a)(1).   Trafficking is a severity level 2 person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3447 created the crime of Aggravated trafficking which is: (1) trafficking as defined in 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3446; (A) involving the commission or attempted commission of kidnapping as 

defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, (B) committed in whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification 

of the defendant or another, or (C) resulting in a death; or (2) recruiting, harboring, transporting, 

providing or obtaining, by any means, a person under 18 years of age knowing that the person, with or 

without force, fraud, threat or coercion, will be used to engage in forced labor, involuntary servitude or 

sexual gratification of the defendant or another.  Aggravated trafficking is a severity level 1 person 

felony. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3510(b) (Indecent solicitation of a child) was amended to raise the penalty for 

Indecent solicitation of a child from a severity level 7 person felony to a severity level 6 person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3511 (Aggravated indecent solicitation of a child) was amended to raise the penalty 

for Aggravated indecent solicitation of a child from a severity level 6 person felony to a severity level 5 

person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 21-3516(a)(2) (Sexual exploitation of a child) was amended to change the 

definition of Sexual exploitation of a child to allow the defendant to be charged with multiple counts of 

sexual exploitation of a child for each visual depiction of child pornography.  Sexual exploitation of a 

child is a severity level 5 person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3830 (Dealing in false identification documents) was amended in subsection (b) to add 

“banking instrument including, but not limited to, credit or debit card, certified copies of birth, death, 

marriage and divorce certificates to the definition of identification document. 

Subsection (c) was amended to change the penalty for Dealing in false identification documents 

from a severity level 10 nonperson felony to a severity level 8 nonperson felony. 
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Subsection (d) creates the crime of Vital records identity fraud related to birth, death, marriage 

and divorce certificates.   

Subsection (e) provides that Vital records identity fraud is a severity level 8 nonperson felony. 

Subsection (f) provides that sections (a) and (b) do not apply to a person less than 21 years of age 

who uses the identification document of another person to acquire an alcoholic beverage as defined in 

K.S.A. 8-1599; or to a person less than 18 years of age who use the identification documents of another 

person to: buy tobacco or cigarette products; communication mediums that contain or depict nudity; 

admittance to activities that are denied based on age; or an item that is prohibited by law for use or 

consumption by such person. 

 

K.S.A. 65-2434(a) (Uniform Vital Statistics Act; Penalties) was amended to provide that Vital 

records identity fraud related to birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates shall be prosecuted 

pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3830, and amendments thereto. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 21-4018 (Identity theft) was amended in subsection (a) to change the 

definition of identity theft from knowingly and with intent to defraud for “economic” benefit to 

knowingly and with intent to defraud for “any” benefit. 

Subsection (b) was amended to provide that “Identification documents” has the meaning 

provided in K.S.A. 21-3830 and amendments thereto. 

Subsection (c) was amended to lower the penalty for Identity theft from a severity level 7 person 

felony to a severity level 8 nonperson felony. 

Subsection (d) created the crime of Identity fraud. 

Subsection (e) provides that Identity fraud is a severity level 8 nonperson felony. 

 

K.S.A. 9-2203(c) (License required to conduct mortgage business) was amended to change the 

penalty from a misdemeanor to a severity level 7 nonperson felony for a first conviction.  A second or 

subsequent conviction, regardless of its location on the sentencing grid block, is presumptive 

imprisonment for any person who willfully or knowingly violates any of the provisions of this act, any 

rule or regulation adopted or order issued under this act. *Note:  A second or subsequent conviction 

pursuant to this statute is reflected as a new special rule on the Presentence Investigation form and 

Journal Entry of Judgment form. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 21-3404(b) (Involuntary manslaughter) was amended to include reference to 

subsection (a) of K.S.A. 8-1568 (Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer).  Involuntary 

manslaughter remains a severity level 5 person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 21-3436(b) (Inherently dangerous felony) was amended to add subsection 

(18) fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-1568 and 

amendments thereto, to the list of inherently dangerous felonies.  

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 32-1032(a) (Big game and wild turkey violation; penalties) was amended to 

add stepped up penalties for a violation of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or the rules and 

regulations of the secretary relating to big game or wild turkey permits and game tags taking big game or 

wild turkey as further provided in this section: 

 

Conviction Category Penalty = fine, county jail or both 

First and Second Conviction Misdemeanor $500 to $1,000 fine; up to 6 months jail time 

Third Conviction Class B misdemeanor $1,000 fine; 30 days minimum in county jail 
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Fourth Conviction Class A misdemeanor $1,000 fine; 60 days minimum in county jail 

Fifth and Subsequent Conviction Class A misdemeanor $1,000 fine; 90 days minimum in county jail 

* Any conviction for a wildlife violation that occurs before July 1, 2005 is not considered for purposes of 

this section.  The penalties included in the remaining subsections were not changed. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 22-4906 (Registration time) was amended to provide that the required 

registration period does not apply to any person while such person is incarcerated in any jail, correctional 

facility, or juvenile facility.  The required registration period does not include any time when any person 

who is required to register under this act knowingly or willfully fails to comply with the registration 

requirement.  Liability for registration does not terminate if the convicted offender again becomes liable 

to register as provided by this act during the required period.  Juvenile offenders required to register 

under this act shall do so until 18 years of age, until the expiration of five years from the date of 

adjudication or, if confined, at the expiration of five years from the release from confinement, whichever 

date is later.  

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 22-4909 (Information subject to open records act; nondisclosure of certain 

information relating to victim) was amended to add subsections (b), (c), (d), and (e).  Subsection (b) 

requires any information posted on an internet website sponsored or created by a sheriff’s office or the 

Kansas Bureau of Investigation to identify, in a prominent manner, whether an offender is or is not a sex 

offender.  Subsections (c), (d) and (e) require that any school district, accredited nonpublic school and 

licensed child care facility be notified annually of the availability of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation 

internet website and any internet website containing information on the Kansas offender registration 

sponsored or created by the sheriff of the county in which the school or facility is located, for the 

purpose of locating offenders who reside near such school or child care facility.  Such notification shall 

also indicate that the sheriff of the county where the school or child care facility is located is available to 

assist with use of the registry and provide additional information on the registered offenders.   

 

K.S.A. 65-67a09 created the Child Rape Protection Act.  This Act requires any physician who 

performs an abortion on a minor who was less than 14 years of age at the time of the commission of the 

procedure to preserve fetal tissue and submit the tissue sample to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation or 

laboratory designated by the Director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.   

Subsection (e) provides that failure of a physician to comply with the provisions of this Act is 

unprofessional conduct and a class A nonperson misdemeanor upon a first conviction and a severity 

level 10 nonperson felony upon a second or subsequent conviction. 

 

K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 21-3520 (Unlawful sexual relations) was amended to broaden its application 

by adding Court Services Officers, Community Corrections Officers, employees of the Juvenile Justice 

Authority or Juvenile Community Supervision Agency, and employees of a contractor who provides 

supervision services for persons under Court Services or Community Corrections supervision to the list 

of potential offenders of this crime.  The offender must have knowledge that the person with whom the 

offender is engaging in unlawful sexual relations is currently under the supervision of Court Services or 

Community Corrections.  The definitions of “Community Corrections," “Court Services,” “Law 

Enforcement Officer,” and “Juvenile Community Supervision Agency” were also added.  Conviction for 

unlawful sexual relations remains a severity level 10 person felony. 

 

K.S.A 17-12a101 through 17-12a703 created the Kansas Uniform Securities Act.   

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 17-12a508 (a) provides the Criminal penalties.  (1) Except as provided in subsections 

(a) (2) through (a) (4), a conviction for an intentional violation of this act, or rule adopted or order issued 
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under this act, except K.S.A 2005 Supp.17-12a504, and amendments thereto, or the notice filing 

requirements of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 17-12a302 or 17-12a405, and amendments thereto, is a severity level 

7 nonperson felony.  An individual convicted of violating a rule or order under this act may be fined, but 

not imprisoned, if the individual did not have knowledge of the rule or order. 

Subsection (a)(2) a conviction for an intentional violation of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 17-12a501 or 17-

12a502, and amendments thereto is: 

(A) a severity level 4 nonperson felony if the violation resulted in a loss of $100,000 or 

more; 

(B) a severity level 5 nonperson felony if the violation resulted in a loss of at least 

$25,000 but less than $100,000; or 

(C) a severity level 7 nonperson felony if the violation resulted in a loss of less than 

$25,000. 

Subsection (a)(3) a conviction for an intentional violation of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 17-12a301, 17-

12a401(a), 17-12a401(c), 17-12a402(a), 17-12a402(d), 17-12a403(a), 17-12a403(c), 17-12a403(d), 17-

12a404(a), or 17-12a404(e), and amendments thereto is: 

(A) a severity level 5 nonperson felony if the violation resulted in a loss of $100,000 or 

more; 

(B) a severity level 6 nonperson felony if the violation resulted in a loss of at least 

$25,000 but less than $100,000; or 

(C) a severity level 7 nonperson felony if the violation resulted in a loss of less than 

$25,000. 

Subsection (a)(4) a conviction for an intentional violation of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 17-12a505 or 17-

12a506, and amendments thereto is a severity level 8 nonperson felony. 

Subsection (a)(5) any violation of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 17-12a301, 17-12a401(a), 17-12a401(c), 

17-12a402(a), 17-12a402(d), 17-12a403(a), 17-12a403(c), 17-12a403(d), 17-12a404(a), 17-12a404(e), 

17-12a501 or 17-12a502, and amendment thereto, resulting in a loss of $25,000 or more shall have a 

presumptive sentence of imprisonment regardless of its location on the sentencing grid block. 

January 1, 2006 

K.S.A. 44-719 (Employment Security Law; Penalties for violation of act; repayment of benefits 

ineligible to receive, interest thereon) was amended to add subsection (f) which created the crime of 

unlawfully reducing or attempting to reduce liability for unemployment contributions by an employing 

unit, a severity level 9 nonperson felony. 

May 25, 2006 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4227 (Recruiting criminal street gang membership) is created and defined 

as causing, encouraging, soliciting or recruiting another person to join a criminal street gang that 

requires, as a condition of membership or continued membership, the commission of any crime or 

membership initiation by submission to a sexual or physical assault that is criminal in nature, or would 

be criminal absent consent by the initiated.  Recruiting criminal street gang membership is a severity 

level 6, person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4228 (Criminal street gang intimidation) is created and defined as the 

communication, directly or indirectly with another, any threat of personal injury or actual personal injury 

to another or any threat of damage or actual damage to property of another with the intent to: (1) Deter 

such person from assisting a criminal street gang member or associate to withdraw from such criminal 

street gang; or (2) punish or retaliate against such person for having withdrawn from a criminal street 

gang.  Criminal street gang intimidation is a severity level 5, person felony. 
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K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4716(c)(2) (Departure factors) is amended to provide that whether a crime 

involved two or more participants in the criminal conduct, and the defendant played a major role in the 

crime as the organizer, leader, recruiter, manager or supervisor, shall be an aggravating factor to be 

considered in determining whether substantial and compelling reasons for a departure exist.  Subsection 

(e) is added to provide that upon motion of the prosecutor stating that the defendant has provided 

substantial assistance in the investigation or prosecution of another person who is alleged to have 

committed an offense, the court may consider such mitigation in determining whether substantial and 

compelling reasons for a departure exist. 

 

K.S.A. 65-4150(c) (Controlled substance definitions) is amended to remove the term “products” 

from the definition of “drug paraphernalia.” See State v. Frazier, 30 Kan. App. 2d 398, 42 P.3d 188, 

review denied 474 Kan. 1115 (2002). 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 65-7006(e) (Chemical control – precursors) is amended to change the severity 

level for a violation from a drug severity level 1 to a drug severity level 2. 

June 1, 2006 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 22-4902 (Offender registration) is amended to include, “any person who, on 

or after July 1, 2006, is convicted of any person felony and the court makes a finding on the record that 

a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such person felony,” within the list of offenders required 

to register under the Kansas offender registration act.  Notation of such is now required on the Journal 

Entry form. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 22-4906 (Registration requirements) is amended to add subsection (d) which 

requires lifetime registration for any person convicted of:  

 (1) Aggravated trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3447, and amendments thereto, if 

the victim is less than 14 years of age; 

 (2) rape, as defined in subsection (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3502, and amendments thereto; 

 (3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3504, 

and amendments thereto; 

 (4) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) of K.S.A. 21-3506, and 

amendments thereto; 

 (5) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, and amendments thereto, if the 

prostitute is less than 14 years of age; or 

 (6) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(5) or (a)(6) of K.S.A. 21-3516, and 

amendments thereto. 

Subsection (h) is amended to include in subparagraph (1) that a person who is adjudicated a 

juvenile offender for an act which if committed by an adult would constitute a sexually violent crime as 

set forth in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 22-4902, and such crime is an off-grid felony or a felony ranked in 

severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, shall be require to register until such 

person reaches 18, the expiration of 5 years from the date of adjudication, or, if confined, 5 years from 

date of release from confinement, whichever date is later.   

Subparagraph (2) provides for judicial discretion when ordering registration of juvenile 

offenders.  It provides that; (A) a person who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which if 

committed by an adult would constitute the commission of a sexually violent crime set forth in 

subsection (c) of K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, and such crime is not an off-grid felony or a 
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felony ranked in severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, and amendments 

thereto, may, by the court: 

(i) Be required to register pursuant to the provisions of paragraph (1); 

(ii) not be required to register if the judge, on the record, finds substantial and compelling 

reasons therefore or 

(iii) be required to register with the sheriff pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4904, and amendments 

thereto, but such registration information shall not be open to inspection by the public or 

posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-4909, and amendments thereto. 

If the court requires the juvenile to register but such registration is not open to the public, 

the juvenile shall provide a copy of such court order to the sheriff at the time of 

registration. The sheriff shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation. 

(B) If such juvenile offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional 

release, the judge may require the juvenile offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).   

July 1, 2006 

K.S.A 2006 Supp. 21-3449 (Terrorism) is created and defined as the commission of, the attempt 

to commit or the conspiracy to commit any felony with the intent to intimidate or coerce the civilian 

population, influence government policy by intimidation or coercion or to affect the operation of any unit 

of government.  Terrorism is an off-grid person felony with a penalty of life imprisonment.   

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3450 (Illegal use of weapons of mass destruction) is created and 

designated an off-grid person felony with a penalty of life imprisonment.  The illegal use of weapons of 

mass destruction is: 

(1) intentionally, knowingly and without lawful authority, developing, producing, stockpiling, 

transferring, acquiring, retaining or possessing any: 

(A) Biological agent, toxin or delivery system for use as a weapon; 

(B) chemical weapon; or 

(C) nuclear materials or nuclear byproduct materials for use as a weapon; 

(2) knowingly assisting a foreign state or any organization to do any such activities as specified 

in paragraph (1); or             

(3) attempting, threatening or conspiring to do any such activities as specified in paragraph (1) or 

(2). 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3451 (Furthering the crime terrorism or illegal use of weapons of mass 

destruction) is created and designated a severity level 1, person felony.  

 

K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302, and 21-3303 (Anticipatory crimes) are amended exempting an attempt, 

conspiracy or solicitation of either terrorism or illegal use of weapons of mass destruction from 

eligibility for a reduced severity level.  As a result, an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit 

either crime is also an off-grid person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4706 (Sentencing) is amended to include terrorism and illegal use of 

weapons of mass destruction in the list of off-grid crimes, the sentence for which shall be life 

imprisonment, not subject to the provisions for suspended sentence, community service or probation. 
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K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 65-4167 (Trafficking in counterfeit drugs) is created and defined as 

intentionally manufacturing, distributing, dispensing, selling or delivering for consumption purposes, or 

holding or offering for sale, any counterfeit drug. 

Trafficking in Counterfeit drugs with a retail value of: Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

$25,000 or more. 7 F NP 

At least $500 but less than $25,000. 9 F NP 

Less than $500. A M NP 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4019 makes it a severity level 6, nonperson felony for any person to 

knowingly and with the intent to defraud, possess or use a scanning device to access, read, obtain, 

memorize or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on the computer chip or magnetic 

strip or stripe of a payment card without the permission of the authorized user of the payment card. 

Subsection (b) makes it a severity level 6, nonperson felony for any person to knowingly and 

with the intent to defraud, possess or use a reencoder to place encoded information on the computer chip 

or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card or any electronic medium that allows an authorized 

transaction to occur, without the permission of the authorized user of the payment card from which the 

information is being reencoded. 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4018(c) (Identity theft/fraud) is amended to provide that if the monetary 

loss to the victim or victims is more than $100,000, identity theft is a severity level 5, nonperson felony.  

If the loss is $100,000 or less, identity theft remains a severity level 8, nonperson felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4310 (Cruelty to animals) is amended to provide that intentionally and 

maliciously killing, injuring, maiming, torturing, burning or mutilating any animal is a nongrid, 

nonperson felony the penalty for which shall be not less than 30 days or more than one year’s 

imprisonment and a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000.  In addition, during the mandatory 

30 days imprisonment, the offender shall have a psychological evaluation prepared for the court to assist 

the court in determining conditions of probation.  Such conditions shall include, but not be limited to, the 

completion of an anger management program. 

Subsection (d)(2) is amended to provide that a second or subsequent conviction for cruelty to 

animals as described in subsections (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4), and (a)(5) is a nongrid, nonperson felony the 

penalty for which shall be not less than five days or more than one year’s imprisonment. 

 

K.S.A. 21-4318(c) (Harming or killing certain dogs) is amended to provide that inflicting harm, 

disability or death to a police dog, arson dog, assistance dog, game warden dog or search and rescue dog 

is a nongrid, nonperson felony the penalty for which shall be not less than 30 days or more than one 

year’s imprisonment and a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000. During the mandatory 30 

days imprisonment, such offender shall have a psychological evaluation prepared for the court to assist 

the court in determining conditions of probation. Such conditions shall include, but not be limited to, the 

completion of an anger management program. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4704(i) (Sentencing guidelines) is amended to include the felony 

violations of K.S.A. 21-4310 and K.S.A.21-4318 within the list of nongrid felonies, the penalties for 

which shall be provided by the specific mandatory sentencing requirements of the statute section 

violated.  Any term of imprisonment imposed for these crimes shall not be served in the custody of the 

secretary of corrections. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4714(b)(9) (Presentence investigation report) is amended to clarify that for 
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defendants being sentenced for convictions of drug possession (K.S.A. 65-4160 or 65-4162) and meet 

the requirements of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4729, and amendments thereto, the drug abuse assessment, as 

provided in K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4729, shall be included as part of the presentence investigation.  

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4729(b) (Nonprison sanction, SB 123) is amended to provide that the drug 

abuse assessment, as required in the presentence investigation, shall include: (1) a clinical interview with 

a mental health professional and a recommendation concerning drug abuse treatment for the offender; 

and (2) a criminal risk-need assessment, unless otherwise specifically ordered by the court.  The criminal 

risk-need assessment shall assign a high or low risk status to the offender. 

Subsection (f)(1) is amended to provide that offenders sentenced to drug abuse treatment 

programs under this statute shall be discharged from such program if the offender: (A) is convicted of a 

new felony; or (B) has a pattern of intentional conduct that demonstrates the offender’s refusal to comply 

with or participate in the treatment program, as established by judicial finding.   

Subsection (h) is added to provide in subparagraph (1) that the following offenders who meet the 

requirement of subsection (a) (SB 123 treatment) shall not be subject to the provisions of this section 

(SB 123 treatment) and shall be sentenced as otherwise provided by law:  

 (A) Offenders who are residents of another state and are returning to such state pursuant to the 

interstate corrections compact or the interstate compact for adult offender supervision; or  

 (B) Offenders who are not lawfully present in the United States and being detained for 

deportation. 

Such sentence shall not be considered a departure and shall not be subject to appeal. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3413 (Battery against a LEO) is amended to expand its application to 

include uniformed university or campus police officers.   

Battery Against a Law Enforcement Officer Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

Intentionally causing physical contact, done in a rude, insulting or angry 

manner 

A M P 

Intentionally or recklessly causing bodily harm  7 F P 

Any battery against any state correctional officer/employee; juvenile 

correctional facility officer/employee; juvenile detention facility 

officer/employee; or city or county correctional officer/employee. 

5 F P 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3415 (Aggravated battery against a LEO) is amended to change the 

severity level for certain violations. 

Aggravated Battery Against a Law Enforcement Officer 
* Severity level changed in 2006 Legislative Session. 

Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

Intentionally causing great bodily harm or disfigurement  3 F P 

Intentionally causing bodily harm with a motor vehicle   3 F P 

Intentionally causing bodily harm with a deadly weapon, or in any manner 

whereby great bodily harm, disfigurement or death can be inflicted 

* 4 F P 

Intentionally causing physical contact done in a rude, insulting or angry 

manner with a deadly weapon, or in any manner whereby great bodily 

harm, disfigurement or death can be inflicted 

* 4 F P 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3448 (Battery against mental health employee) is created and defined as, 

any battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3412, and amendments thereto, committed against a mental health 

employee by a person in the custody of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services, while such 
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employee is engaged in the performance of such employee’s duty.  Battery against a mental health 

employee is a severity level 7, person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 75-5291(a)(2)(E) (Community correctional services) is amended to provide 

that placement of offenders in community correctional services programs by the court shall be limited to 

placement of adult offenders including, on and after July 1, 2008, for offenders who are expected to be 

subject to supervision in Kansas, [those] who are determined to be ‘‘high risk or needs, or both’’ by the 

use of a statewide, mandatory, standardized risk assessment tool or instrument which shall be specified 

by the Kansas sentencing commission.   

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4203(a) (Criminal disposal of a firearm) is amended to add subparagraph 

(6) which provides that, on and after January 1, 2007, selling, giving or otherwise transferring any 

firearm to any person who is or has been a mentally ill person subject to involuntary commitment for 

care and treatment, as defined in K.S.A. 59-2946, and amendments thereto, or a person with an alcohol 

or substance abuse problem subject to involuntary commitment for care and treatment as defined in 

K.S.A. 59-29b46, and amendments thereto, and such person has not received a certificate of restoration 

pursuant to section 12, and amendments thereto shall be criminal disposal of a firearm, a class A 

nonperson misdemeanor. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4204(a) (Criminal possession of a firearm) is amended to add 

subparagraph (7) which provides that, on and after January 1, 2007, possession of any firearm by a 

person who is or has been a mentally ill person subject to involuntary commitment for care and 

treatment, as defined in K.S.A. 59-2946, and amendments thereto, or persons with an alcohol or 

substance abuse problem subject to involuntary commitment for care and treatment as defined in K.S.A. 

59-29b46, and amendments thereto shall be criminal possession of a firearm.  If such person has not 

received a certificate of restoration pursuant to section 12, and amendments thereto a violation of 

subsection (a)(7), is a severity level 8, nonperson felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 66-2303 (Criminal trespass on a nuclear generating facility) is created and 

designated a severity level 6, person felony.  It is defined as either: 

 Knowingly entering or remaining unlawfully in or on a nuclear generating facility; or 

 Knowingly entering or remaining unlawfully within a structure or fenced yard of a nuclear 

generating facility.   

 

K.S.A. 8-1602 (Vehicle accidents involving death or personal injury) is amended to provide 

stepped up penalties for failing to remain at the scene of an accident resulting in injury, great bodily 

harm or death. 

Failure of driver involved in vehicle accident to remain at the scene of 

the accident when such accident results in: 

Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

Injury to any person A M P 

Great bodily harm to any person  10 F P 

Death of any person 9 F P 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 8-1606 (Vehicle accidents – Duty to report) is amended to provide stepped up 

penalties for failing to report an accident resulting in injury, great bodily harm, death or property 

damage. 

Failure of driver involved in vehicle accident to report the accident to 

authorities when such accident results in: 

Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 
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Injury to any person or property damage in excess of $1,000 A M P 

Great bodily harm to any person 10 F P 

Death of any person 9 F P 

* If a driver is physically incapable of report such accident and there is an occupant 18 or older capable 

of providing notice, such occupant assumes the duty to report the accident. 

 

K.S.A. 9-512 (Banks & Banking; Penalties) is amended to change the penalty for a violation 

from an unclassified misdemeanor to a severity level 9, nonperson felony for any person who knowingly 

violates any provision of this act.   

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3856 (Obstruction of a Medicaid fraud investigation) is created and defined 

as knowingly and intentionally engaging in one or more of the following during an investigation of any 

matter pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3844 et. seq., and amendments thereto: 

1. Falsifying, concealing or covering up a material fact by any trick, misstatement, scheme or 

device; or 

2. making or causing to be made any materially false writing or document knowing that such 

writing or document contains any false, fictitious or fraudulent statement or entry. 

Obstruction of a Medicaid fraud investigation is a severity level 9, nonperson felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3847(a) (Unlawful acts related to Medicaid) is amended to add 

subparagraph (3) which provides that it is a severity level 7, nonperson felony for any recipient of 

Medicaid benefits, family member of such recipient or provider of Medicaid services to knowingly 

divide or share any funds illegally obtained from the Medicaid program. 

Subsection (b) is added and provides that no Medicaid recipient shall knowingly and 

intentionally trade a Medicaid number for money or other remuneration, sign for services that are not 

received by the Medicaid recipient or sell or exchange for value goods purchased or provided under the 

Medicaid program.  A violation of this subsection is a severity level 7, nonperson felony. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3910 (Misuse of public funds) is amended to provide stepped up penalties for 

violations of the statute.  Misuse of Public funds is knowingly using, lending or permitting another to 

use; public money in a manner not authorized by law, by a custodian or other person having control of 

public money by virtue of such person’s official position. 

Misuse of public funds where the aggregate amount of money paid or 

claimed in violation of this section is: 

Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

$100,000 or more 6 F NP 

At least $25,000 but less than $100,000 7 F NP 

At least $1,000 but less than $25,000 9 F NP 

Less than $1,000 A M NP 

 

K.S.A. 8-2,144 (Commercial motor vehicles; DUI) is amended to provide stepped up penalties 

for subsequent violations involving driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol.    

Conviction for 

violation 

Sentence Severity 

Level 

F / M P / NP 

First conviction  48 hours – 6 month’s imprisonment, or 100 hours 

public service, and a fine of no less than $500 to 

$1,000 

B M NP 

Second conviction 90 days (five mandatory) to 1 year’s imprisonment 

and a fine of no less than $1,000 to $1,500 

A M NP 
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Third conviction 90 days (mandatory) – 1 year’s imprisonment and a 

fine of no less than $1,500 to $2,500 

*Unc/10 F NP 

* Unclassified felony sentenced according to provisions in this statute, counted as severity level 10, 

nonperson felony for criminal history purposes.  K.S.A. 21-4707. 

Senate Sub for House Bill 2576 (Jessica’s Law) 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4642 (Aggravated habitual sex offender) is created and provides that an 

aggravated habitual sex offender shall be sentenced to imprisonment for life without the possibility of 

parole in the custody of the secretary of corrections. 

Subsection (c)(1) defines an “aggravated habitual sex offender” as a person who, on and after 

July 1, 2006: (A) has been convicted in this state of a sexually violent crime; and (B) prior to the current 

conviction, has been convicted on at least two prior conviction events of any sexually violent crime. 

Subsection (c)(2) defines “prior conviction event” as one or more felony convictions of a 

sexually violent crime, occurring on the same day and within a single count.  These convictions may 

result from multiple counts within an information or from more than one information. If a person crosses 

a county line and commits a felony as part of the same criminal act or acts, such felony, if such person is 

convicted, shall be considered part of the prior conviction event. 

Subsection (c)(3) defines “sexually violent crime” as used in this section to include: 

A) Rape, K.S.A. 21-3502, and amendments thereto; 

B) Indecent liberties with a child, K.S.A. 21-3503, and amendments thereto; 

C) Aggravated indecent liberties with a child, K.S.A. 21-3504, and amendments thereto; 

D) Criminal sodomy, subsection (a)(2) and (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, and amendments thereto; 

E) Aggravated criminal sodomy, K.S.A. 21-3506, and amendments thereto; 

F) Indecent solicitation of a child, K.S.A. 21-3510, and amendments thereto; 

G) Aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, K.S.A. 21-3511, and amendments thereto; 

H) Sexual exploitation of a child, K.S.A. 21-3516, and amendments thereto; 

I) Aggravated sexual battery, K.S.A. 21-3518, and amendments thereto; 

J) Aggravated incest, K.S.A. 21-3603, and amendments thereto; 

K) Any federal or other state conviction for a felony offense that under the laws of this state would 

be a sexually violent crime as defined in this section; 

L) An attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-

3303, and amendments thereto, of a sexually violent crime as defined in this section; or 

M)Any act which at the time of sentencing for the offense has been determined beyond a 

reasonable doubt to have been sexually motivated.  As used in this subparagraph, ‘‘sexually 

motivated’’ means that one of the purposes for which the defendant committed the crime was for 

the purpose of the defendant’s sexual gratification. 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4643 (Jessica’s Law) is created.  Subsection (a)(1) provides that, except as 

in subsection (b) or (d), a defendant who is 18 years of age or older and convicted of the following 

crimes, committed on or after July 1, 2006, shall be sentenced to a term of life imprisonment with a 

mandatory minimum term of not less than 25 years (Hard 25), unless the court determines that the 

defendant should be sentenced as determined in paragraph (2): 

A) Aggravated trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3447, and amendments thereto, if 

the victim is less than 14 years of age; 

B) rape, as defined in subsection (a)(2) of K.S.A. 21-3502, and amendments thereto; 

C) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3504, 

and amendments thereto; 
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D) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) of K.S.A. 21-3506, and 

amendments thereto; 

E) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, and amendments thereto, if the prostitute 

is less than 14 years of age, 

F) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(5) or (a)(6) of K.S.A. 21-3516, and 

amendments thereto; and 

G) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-

3303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in paragraphs (A) through (F). 

Subparagraph (2) provides that the provision of paragraph (1) requiring the Hard 25 shall not 

apply if the court finds: 

A) the defendant is an aggravated habitual sex offender and sentences the defendant to life 

imprisonment pursuant to section 1; or 

B) the defendant, because of the defendant’s criminal history classification, is subject to 

presumptive imprisonment with a sentencing range exceeding 300 months, pursuant to the 

sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes.  In such case, the defendant is required to serve 

a mandatory minimum term equal to the sentence established pursuant to the sentencing range. 

Subsection (b) provides that, on and after July 1, 2006, if a defendant, 18 years or older, is 

convicted of one of the crimes listed above in subsection (a)(1) and the defendant has previously been 

convicted of a crime listed in subsection (a)(1) or a crime under a law of another jurisdiction which is 

substantially similar, the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment to life with a 

mandatory minimum of not less than 40 years (Hard 40), unless the court finds: 

A) the defendant is an aggravated habitual sex offender and sentences the defendant to life 

imprisonment pursuant to section 1; or 

B) the defendant, because of the defendant’s criminal history classification, is subject to 

presumptive imprisonment with a sentencing range exceeding 480 months, pursuant to the 

sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes.  In such case, the defendant is required to serve 

a mandatory minimum term equal to the sentence established pursuant to the sentencing range. 

Subsection (c) provides that offenders sentenced under subsection (a) or (b), shall not be eligible 

for probation or suspension, modification or reduction of sentence.  In addition, a person sentenced 

pursuant to this section shall not be eligible for parole prior to serving the mandatory term of 

imprisonment, without the application of good time credits. 

Subsection (d) provides that on or after July 1, 2006, for a first time conviction of an offense listed 

in paragraph (a)(1), the sentencing judge shall impose the mandatory minimum term of imprisonment 

provided by subsection (a), unless the judge finds substantial and compelling reasons, following a review 

of mitigating circumstances, to impose a departure.  If the sentencing judge departs from such mandatory 

minimum term of imprisonment, the judge shall state on the record at the time of sentencing the 

substantial and compelling reasons for the departure.  The departure sentence shall be the sentence 

pursuant to the sentencing guidelines act, K. S. A. 21-4701 et seq., and amendments thereto, and no 

sentence of a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment shall be imposed hereunder.  As used in this 

subsection, mitigating circumstances shall include, but are not limited to, the following: 

1. The defendant has no significant history of prior criminal activity. 

2. The crime was committed while the defendant was under the influence of extreme mental or 

emotional disturbances. 

3. The victim was an accomplice in the crime committed by another person, and the defendant’s 

participation was relatively minor. 

4. The defendant acted under extreme distress or under the substantial domination of another 

person. 
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5. The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of the defendant’s conduct or to 

conform the defendant’s conduct to the requirements of law was substantially impaired. 

6. The age of the defendant at the time of the crime. 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4232 (Tampering with electronic monitoring equipment) is created and 

defined as intentionally removing, disabling, altering, tampering with, damaging or destroying any 

electronic monitoring equipment used pursuant to court order or as a condition of parole.  Unlawfully 

tampering with electronic monitoring equipment is a severity level 6, nonperson felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3523 (Electronic solicitation) is created and pertains to electronic 

solicitation of children.  Electronic solicitation is, by means of communication conducted through the 

telephone, internet, or by other electronic means is: 

 Enticing or soliciting a person whom the offender believes to be a child under the age of 16 to 

commit or submit to an unlawful sexual act, which is a severity level 3, person felony; or 

 Enticing or soliciting a person whom the offender believes to be a child under the age of 14 to 

commit or submit to an unlawful sexual act, which is a severity level 1, person felony. 

 

The following crimes are amended to provide that a violation is an off-grid person felony if the 

victim is under 14 years of age and the offender is 18 years of age or older: 

 K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3502(c) (Rape) as described in subsection (a)(2);    

 K.S.A. 21-3506(c) (Aggravated criminal sodomy) as described in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2);  

 K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3447(b) (Aggravated trafficking);  

 K.S.A. 21-3504(c) (Aggravated indecent liberties with a child) as described in subsection 

(a)(3); and  

 K.S.A. 21-3513 (b) (Promoting prostitution) as described in subparagraph (4). 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3516 (Sexual exploitation of a child) is amended to add two new criminal 

acts and subsequent penalties.  Subsection (a)(5) is added to provide that sexual exploitation of a child 

includes employing, using, persuading, inducing, enticing or coercing a child under 14 years of age to 

engage in sexually explicit conduct for the purpose of promoting any performance.  Subsection (a)(6) is 

also added to provide that sexual exploitation of a child includes promoting any performance that 

includes sexually explicit conduct by a child under 14 years of age, knowing the character and content of 

the performance. 

Subsection (c) is amended to provide that a violation of subsection (a)(5) or (a)(6) is an off-grid 

person felony when the offender is 18 years of age or older.  Note: The question remains as to what the 

penalty will be for a violation of either if these subsections by an offender under 18 years of age whose 

victim is under 14 years of age. 

 

K.S.A. 21-3812 (Aiding a felon) is amended to provide that aiding a person required to register 

under the Kansas offender registration act is a severity level 5, person felony. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4638 (sentencing, Hard 40 or 50) is amended to provide that for crimes 

committed on or after July 1, 2006, a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 50 years shall not 

apply if the court finds that the defendant, because of the defendant’s criminal history classification, is 

subject to presumptive imprisonment pursuant to the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes and 

the sentencing range exceeds 600 months.  In such case, the defendant is required to serve a mandatory 

minimum term equal to the sentence established pursuant to the sentencing range. 
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K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4704 (Sentencing guidelines) is amended to add subsection (m) which 

provides that the sentence for a violation of K.S.A 22-4903 or subsection (d) of K.S.A. 21-3812, and 

amendments thereto, shall be presumptive imprisonment.  If an offense under such sections is classified 

in grid blocks 5-E, 5-F, 5-G, 5-H or 5-I, the court may impose an optional nonprison sentence upon 

making the following findings on the record: 

(1) An appropriate treatment program exists which is likely to be more effective than the 

presumptive prison term in reducing the risk of offender recidivism, such program is available 

and the offender can be admitted to such program within a reasonable period of time; or 

(2) the nonprison sanction will serve community safety interests by promoting offender 

reformation.   

Any decision made by the court regarding the imposition of an optional nonprison sentence pursuant to 

this section shall not be considered a departure and shall not be subject to appeal. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-4706 (Good time) is amended to add subsection (d) which provides that as 

identified in K.S.A. 21-3502, 21-3404, 21-3506, 21-3513 and 21-3516 and K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3447, 

and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and the victim is under 14 years of 

age, such violations are off-grid crimes for the purposes of sentencing.  Except as provided in section 1, 

and amendments thereto, the sentence shall be imprisonment for life pursuant to section 2, and 

amendments thereto. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 22-3717(a) (Parole) is amended to exempt offenders sentenced as aggravated 

habitual sex offenders from eligibility for parole or good time.   

Subsections (b) and (c) are amended to provide that inmates sentenced to a Hard 25, Hard 40 or 

mandatory guidelines sentence pursuant to section 2 shall be eligible for parole only after serving the 

mandatory term without the application of any good time credits.   

Subsection (d) is amended to provide, in part, that offenders convicted of Indecent solicitation of 

a child and aggravated indecent solicitation of a child shall be required to participate in a treatment 

program for sex offenders during the postrelease supervision period.   

Subparagraph (G) is added and provides that, except as provided in subsection (u), persons 

convicted of a sexually violent crime, committed on or after July 1, 2006, and who are released from 

prison, shall be released to a mandatory period of postrelease supervision for the duration of the person’s 

natural life.  As used in this section, “sexually violent crime” includes;  

 Rape, 

 Indecent liberties with a child,  

 Aggravated indecent liberties with a child,  

 Criminal sodomy,  

 Aggravated criminal sodomy,  

 Indecent solicitation of a child,  

 Aggravated indecent solicitation of a child,  

 Sexual exploitation of a child,  

 Aggravated sexual battery,  

 Aggravated incest, and  

 an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation of any of the above.  

Subsection (u) is added to provide that an inmate sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to section 

2, and amendments thereto, for crimes committed on or after July 1, 2006, shall be placed on parole for 

life and shall not be discharged from supervision by the Kansas parole board.  When the board orders the 

parole of an inmate pursuant to this subsection, the board shall order as a condition of parole that the 

inmate be electronically monitored for the duration of the inmate’s natural life. 
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Subsection (v) is also added and provides that whenever the Kansas parole board or the court 

orders a person to be electronically monitored, the board or court shall order the person to reimburse the 

state for all or part of the cost of such monitoring.  In determining the amount and method of payment of 

such sum, the board or court shall take account of the financial resources of the person and the nature of 

the burden that the payment of such sum will impose. 

 

K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 22-4903 (Offender registration) is amended to increase the penalty for failing to 

register as required under the Kansas Offender Registration Act to a severity level 5, person felony.  

Each 31st consecutive day in violation shall constitute a new and separate offense. 

 

March 29, 2007 

House Bill 2074 amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 38-2313 (Fingerprints and photographs) to: 

 Require fingerprinting and allow photographing, of juveniles when taken into custody, or 

upon first appearance or in any event before final sentencing, for crimes that would constitute 

a felony, class A or B misdemeanor, or assault if committed by an adult; 

 Require fingerprinting and photographing of any juvenile admitted to a juvenile correctional 

facility; 

 Allow fingerprinting and photographing of a juvenile if the juvenile has been prosecuted as 

an adult or taken into custody for certain offenses; and 

 Allow photographing of any juvenile placed in a detention facility.  Photos taken under this 

section are to be used solely by the detention facility for the purposes of identification, 

security and protection and shall not be disseminated to others. 

 If the juvenile is admitted to a juvenile correctional facility or taken into custody for the 

offenses mentioned above, the juvenile’s fingerprints shall, and the photographs may, be sent 

to the state and federal repositories. 

*Effective March 29, 2007. 

April 19, 2007 

Senate Bill 66 pertains to the Kansas expanded lottery act which expands gaming zones in 

Kansas.  The bill creates:  

Nine class A nonperson misdemeanors;  

 Wager and loan violations - First offense 

 Unauthorized playing of an electronic gaming machine at lottery gaming facility - First 

offense 

 Unauthorized playing of an electronic gaming machine at racetrack gaming facility - First 

offense 

 Unauthorized wagering or playing electronic gaming machine by select persons at racetrack 

gaming facility 

 Unauthorized wagering or playing electronic gaming machine or lottery facility game by 

select persons at lottery gaming facility 

 Willful violation of conflict of interest and employment regulations in this section 

 Holding a paid position with any facility manager licensee, facility owner licensee or 

organization licensee or holding an interest in any racetrack facility while a member of the 

Legislature or within five years following the end of such term (KSA 2007 Supp. 74-

8810(b)(1))  

 Holding a paid position with any facility manager licensee, facility owner licensee or 



KSG Desk Reference Manual 2014 
Page 28 of 49 

organization licensee or holding an interest in any racetrack facility if related to a member of 

the Legislature (KSA 2007 Supp. 74-8810(b)(2)) 

 Illegal purchase of a parimutuel ticket by person 18 or over but less than 21; 1st offense 

(KSA 2007 Supp. 74-8810(k)(1)) 

Five severity level 9, nonperson felonies; and 

 Wager and loan violations - Second or subsequent offense 

 Unauthorized playing of an electronic gaming machine at racetrack gaming facility - Second 

or subsequent offense 

 Unauthorized playing of an electronic gaming machine at lottery gaming facility - Second or 

subsequent offense 

 Knowingly cheating, including possession of or use of cheating device  

 Placing in operation, or continuing to operate any gray machine for use by the public 

Two severity level 8, nonperson felonies. 

 Manipulation of an electronic gaming machine or lottery facility game with intent to change 

the outcome, pay out or operation thereof; and 

 Illegal purchase of a parimutuel ticket by person 18 or over but less than 21 - second or 

subsequent offense (K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 74-8810(k)(1)). 

The bill also amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 74-8810 (Parimutuel racing; prohibited acts) to increase the 

legal age for purchasing parimutuel tickets to 21 from 18 and, K.S.A. 74-8716 (Conflicts of interest) to 

expand the list of conflicts of interest and thus increase the number of potential class A misdemeanor 

violations. 

*Effective April 19, 2007. 

May 17, 2007 

 House Bill 2062 amends several statutes including those pertaining to; explosives, aggravated 

battery of a Law Enforcement Officer, battery to a mental health employee, special sentencing 

provisions, select drug violations, controlled substances and “Alexa’s Law”, allowing prosecution for 

crimes against unborn children.  The amendments are as follows: 

 K.S.A. 21-3731 (Criminal use of explosives) is amended to expand the definition of explosive 

to explicitly include materials that, when combined, cause a chemical reaction and explode.  

Violation of this section is a severity level 6, person felony.  However, it is a severity level 5, 

person felony if: 

o the violation is done with the intent to use the explosive for a crime;  

o a public safety officer is placed at risk to defuse the explosive; or  

o the explosive is placed in a building in which there is another person. 

The possession, creation or construction of a simulated explosive is a severity level 8, person 

felony. 

 K.S.A. 21-4704(g) (Sentencing guidelines) is amended to change the special rule pertaining 

to aggravated assault or battery against a Law Enforcement Officer (L.E.O.).  The sentence 

for aggravated battery against a L.E.O., committed prior to July 1, 2006, or aggravated assault 

against a L.E.O. which places the defendant in grid block 6-H or 6-I shall be presumptive 

prison.  This amendment is in response to the change to the severity level for aggravated 

battery of a L.E.O. made in the 2006 Legislative session. 

 K.S.A. 21-4704(l) (Sentencing guidelines) is further amended to provide that the sentence for 

a burglary (K.S.A. 21-3715) when the person being sentenced has two or more prior 

convictions for burglary or, a prior conviction for burglary and aggravated burglary (K.S.A. 

21-3716), shall be presumed imprisonment.  This special rule will increase the potential for 

an offender to receive a presumptive prison sentence upon conviction for burglary. 
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 K.S.A. 21-3448 (Battery against a mental health employee) is amended to expand its 

application to include employees at Osawatomie State Hospital, Rainbow Mental Health 

Facility, Kansas Neurological Institute and Parsons State Hospital and Training Center. 

 Alexa’s Law is enacted and pertains to crimes against unborn children, defined as “a living 

individual organism of the homo sapiens species, in utero, at any stage of gestation from 

fertilization to birth.”  Crimes to which this statute would apply include: 

o Battery, Aggravated Battery, 1st Degree Murder, 2nd Degree Murder, Voluntary 

Manslaughter, Involuntary Manslaughter, Vehicular Homicide, Capital Murder, and 

Involuntary Manslaughter DUI. 

o It does not apply to: 

 An act committed by the mother of the unborn child 

 Any medical procedure, including abortion; and 

 The lawful dispensation or administration of lawfully prescribed medication. 

 K.S.A. 65-4153 (Simulated controlled substances and drug paraphernalia) is amended to 

increase the penalty for violating provisions of the statute within 1000 feet of a school.  The 

penalties are provided in the following table. 

 

K.S.A. 65-4153: No person shall sell, offer for 

sale, have in such person's possession with 

intent to sell, deliver, possess with intent to 

deliver, manufacture with intent to deliver or 

cause to be delivered within this state: 

Current Law - General 

Severity Levels  

New Provisions - Severity 

Levels, if violation is 

within 1000 foot of a 

school 

(a)(1) Any simulated controlled substance 

 Nondrug severity level 9, 

nonperson felony.   

 Nondrug severity level 7, 

nonperson felony 

(a)(2) any drug paraphernalia to be used for 

consumption of controlled substance in violation of 

65-4162 

 Class A nonperson 

misdemeanor;  

 Nondrug severity level 9, 

nonperson felony if 

delivered to one under 18 

years of age 

 Nondrug severity level 9, 

nonperson felony 

regardless of the age of 

the person delivered to 

(a)(3) any drug paraphernalia to be used for 

consumption of controlled substance in violation of 

other than 65-4162 

 Nondrug severity level 9, 

nonperson felony;  

 Drug severity level 4, 

felony if delivered to one 

under 18 years of age  

 Drug severity level 4, 

felony regardless of the 

age of the person 

delivered to 

(a)(4) any drug paraphernalia to be used for 

propagation, manufacture, or distribution of 

controlled substance  

 Drug severity level 4, 

felony 

 Drug severity level 3, 

felony 

 

 K.S.A. 65-1643 (Regulation of pharmacists) is amended to clarify identification requirements 

concerning the purchase or sale of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine and access to the product.   

 K.S.A. 65-4113 (Substances included in schedule V) is amended to make all forms of 

ephedrine, pseudoephedrine and phenylpropanolamine controlled substances. 

 K.S.A. 65-7006 (Drug paraphernalia) is amended to create a class A, nonperson misdemeanor 

for the purchase or receipt of a compound or mixture containing amounts of pseudoephedrine 

or ephedrine in excess of; 

o 3.6 grams in a single transaction or, 

o 9 grams within any 30-day period. 

*Effective May 17, 2007. 



KSG Desk Reference Manual 2014 
Page 30 of 49 

May 24, 2007 

Senate Bill 166 amends several statutes to change penalties, create new special rules, expand 

application of special rules in existence and repeal some seldom used and outdated statutes.  The 

amendments in pertinent part are as follows: 

 K.S.A. 17-1311a (Cemetery Corporations) is amended to change the penalty for misuse of the 

permanent maintenance fund from a class D felony to a severity level 7, nonperson felony. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3516 (Sexual exploitation of a child) is amended to clarify that sexual 

exploitation of a child is a severity level 5, person felony unless the child is less than 14 and 

the offender is 18 or older, then it is an off-grid felony. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3610c (Unlawfully hosting minors consuming alcoholic liquor or 

cereal malt beverage) is amended to strike reference to the age 18 and insert the word 

“minor” which serves to broaden the potential application of the statute. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4603d(f) (Authorized dispositions) is amended to create a new special 

rule which provides that when a new felony is committed while the offender is incarcerated 

in a juvenile correctional facility for an offense which if committed by an adult would 

constitute the commission of a felony, the sentence shall be presumptive prison.  The 

following statutes are then amended to coincide with this special rule: 

o K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 38-2304 (Juvenile jurisdiction) is amended to provide that the district 

court will lose jurisdiction over a juvenile under the juvenile justice code if the juvenile 

offender is convicted of a new felony while incarcerated in a juvenile correctional facility 

for an offense which if committed by an adult would constitute a felony. 

o K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 38-2376 (Discharge from commitment) is amended to provide that a 

juvenile offender will no longer be under JJA custody if convicted as an adult while 

serving a term of incarceration at a juvenile facility. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4603d(f) (Authorized dispositions) is further amended to expand 

application of the special rule pertaining to crimes committed while on felony bond under 

Kansas statutes to include instances where an offender is on bond under similar provisions of 

the laws of another jurisdiction.  In such cases, the new sentence is to run consecutive to the 

first and the court may impose a prison sentence regardless of the presumption in the current 

case.   

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4643 (Child sex offenses) is amended to expand the list of offenses 

that qualify a second-time sex offender for a hard 40 sentence to include crimes in effect prior 

to the effective date of the Act or crimes under the laws of another state which are 

substantially the same as: 

o Aggravated trafficking where the victim is < 14 

o Rape of a child < 14 

o Aggravated indecent liberties of a child < 14 

o Aggravated criminal sodomy of a child < 14 

o Promoting prostitution where the prostitute is < 14 

o Sexual exploitation of a child < 14  

o Any attempt, conspiracy or solicitation of these. 

Hard 40 does not apply to unlawful voluntary sexual relations under K.S.A. 21-3522 or any 

substantially similar crimes from another jurisdiction. 

 K.S.A. 47-604 (Domestic animals – quarantine) is amended to change the penalty for a 

violation of a quarantine affecting domestic animals from a class D felony to a severity level 

7, nonperson felony. 

 K.S.A. 65-28,107 (Healing arts – unlawful acts) is amended to change the penalty for 

falsifying or forging the declaration of another from a class E felony to severity level 7, 
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person felony. 

 K.S.A. 66-276 (Duties and liabilities of railroad companies), which provided the unclassified 

misdemeanor penalty for a violation of 66-275 which was repealed in 1998, is repealed. 

 K.S.A. 75-7b19 (Private Investigative or Security Operations), which provided the class E 

felony penalty for falsifying fingerprints or photos regarding private investigative or security 

operations, is repealed. 

* Effective May 24, 2007. 
 

 House Bill 2128 pertains to elections and amends K.S.A. 25-3005a (Authorized poll agent) to set 

out certain requirements for a person appointed to be an authorized poll agent and provide that a 

violation of this section shall be a class C nonperson misdemeanor.  The bill also amends K.S.A. 25-

2407 (Corrupt political advertising) to expand its application to include published political advertising 

items such as brochures, flyers or fact sheets.  Information in these items must indicate who paid for or 

sponsored such information.  Finally, the bill creates the crime of advance voting suppression, a severity 

level 9, nonperson felony.  Advance voting suppression is knowingly, with intent to impede, obstruct or 

exert undue influence on the election process:  

 Destroying or altering another’s advance voting ballot without written consent; 

 Obstructing delivery of an advance voting ballot 

 Failing to deliver an advance voting ballot to the appropriate officer within the required time; 

 Exercising undue influence upon an advance voter; or 

 Opening an advance voting ballot envelope sealed by the voter or examining or disclosing the 

contents of such voter’s advance voting ballot unless fulfilling official duties. 

*Effective May 24, 2007. 

July 1, 2007 

House Substitute for Senate Bill 14 creates a grant program to be administered by the Secretary 

of Corrections.  The goal of such program is to reduce each community corrections program’s revocation 

rates by at least 20% from such program’s fiscal year 2006 rate.  In addition, the bill: 

 Amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4706 (Sentencing; good time) to increase good time credit to 

20% for crimes of nondrug severity level 7-10 or drug severity level 3 or 4, committed on or 

after January 1, 2008; 

 Amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-4722 (Good time credit; calculation) to coincide with the 

change to 20% good time and to create a program credit of up to 60 days for offenders 

serving a sentence for a nondrug severity level 4-10 offense or a drug severity level 3 or 4 

offense who successfully complete a GED, technical or vocational program, substance abuse 

program or other risk reduction program designated by the Secretary; 

 Creates the Kansas Criminal Code Recodification Commission and sets guidelines for its 

composition, compensation, and duties (Sunsets July 1, 2010); and  

 Amends K.S.A. 75-5268 to authorize the Secretary of Corrections to disburse reasonable 

amounts of money earned by an inmate for payment of costs assessed in the inmate’s criminal 

case and prioritizes payments of those costs as follows; restitution, costs, fines and fees. 

*Effective July 1, 2007, but the Recodification Commission provision was effective May 24, 2007. 

 

House Substitute for Senate Bill 35 includes provisions pertaining to driving while suspended 

and driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 8-262 (Penalty; Driving with 

canceled, suspended or revoked license) is amended in subsection (c) to provide that on a third or 

subsequent violation of this section, the person shall be sentenced to not less than 90 days and fined not 

less than $1,500 if the offender’s privilege to drive was canceled, suspended or revoked because the 



KSG Desk Reference Manual 2014 
Page 32 of 49 

offender: 

 Refused to submit and complete any blood, breath or urine test requested by law enforcement 

(excluding the preliminary screening test); 

 Was convicted of driving without vehicle insurance in violation of K.S.A. 40-3104 (vehicle 

liability insurance); 

 Was convicted of vehicular homicide, K.S.A. 21-3405, involuntary manslaughter while 

driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, K.S.A. 21-3442, or any other murder or 

manslaughter crime resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle; or 

 Was convicted of being a habitual violator, K.S.A. 8-287. 

The bill amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 8-1014 (Suspension and restriction of driving privilege) to 

provide longer terms of restriction to a vehicle fitted with an ignition interlock device for persons who 

have failed a test with .15 BAC or greater as follows: 

Penalty for failing 

DUI test First  Second Third Fourth Fifth 

BAC at least .08 

but less than .15 

DL suspended 30 

days, then 

restricted for 330 

days as provided 

by K.S.A. 8-1015 

DL suspended 

1 yr, then 

restricted for 1 

yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 1 

yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 1 

yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL 

Permanently 

revoked 

BAC .15 or more 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then restricted 

for 1 yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 

1 yr, then 

restricted for 2 

yrs. to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 3 

yrs. to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 4 

yrs. to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL 

Permanently 

revoked 

If offender is less 

than 21 yoa, and 

BAC at least .08 

but less than .15 

DL suspended 1 

yr 

DL suspended 

1 yr, then 

restricted for 1 

yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 1 

yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 1 

yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL 

Permanently 

revoked 

If offender is less 

than 21 yoa, and 

BAC .15 or more 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then restricted 

for 1 yr to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 

1 yr, then 

restricted for 2 

yrs. to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 3 

yrs. to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL suspended 1 

yr, then 

restricted for 4 

yrs. to vehicle 

with ignition 

interlock device 

DL 

Permanently 

revoked 

  

 

The bill also amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 8-1567 (DUI) to provide that the court may order that the term 

of imprisonment imposed for a third, fourth or subsequent DUI violation may be served in a state facility 

in the custody of the secretary of corrections in a facility designated for the provision of substance abuse 

treatment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4704.  The person shall remain imprisoned in the state facility only 

while participating in the substance abuse treatment program and shall be released to the custody of the 

sheriff for execution of the balance of the term of imprisonment upon completion of or discharge from 

the substance abuse treatment program.  Several potential reasons for discharge are included in the 

amendment along with the requirement that entrance into and completion of a substance abuse treatment 

program shall be required as a condition of parole.   

Other amendments to K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 8-1567 include: 
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 Amendment to subsection (h) which provides that any person convicted of a DUI violation 

who had one or more children under the age of 14 in the vehicle at the time of the offense 

shall have such person’s punishment enhanced by one month’s imprisonment which must be 

served consecutive to any other minimum mandatory penalty imposed under this statute.  Any 

enhanced penalty shall not exceed the maximum sentence allowable by law; 

 A new subsection is added to the statute and provides that for a second or subsequent DUI 

conviction, in addition to any other penalty, the court shall order that each motor vehicle 

owned or leased by the person shall either be equipped with an ignition interlock device or be 

impounded or immobilized for a period of two years or until the lease expires if such lease is 

to expire in less than two years; and  

 Subsection (v) is added to require that for every DUI conviction, the court shall order a pre-

sentence alcohol and drug abuse evaluation pursuant to K.S.A. 8-2008 and such report shall 

be made available to the court for consideration at sentencing. 

 *Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

House Substitute for Senate Bill 103 pertains to palm prints, DNA samples & appearance bonds 

and amends: 

 K.S.A. 21-2501 (Fingerprinting of suspects) to include the requirement to take a set of palm 

print impressions whenever fingerprints are taken; 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 75-724 (DNA database fee) to require juveniles, upon adjudication, to pay 

the court cost of $100 as a KBI DNA database fee; and 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-2511 (Collection of specimens) to: 

o Require that, beginning July 1, 2008, any adult or juvenile charged with commission or 

attempted commission of certain felonies shall submit a DNA specimen whenever 

fingerprints are required.   

o Require any person required to register as an offender to submit a DNA specimen 

whenever fingerprints are required. 

*Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

 Senate Bill 201 pertains to restrictions on persons maintaining or residing, working or 

volunteering at child care facilities or family day care homes.  The bill amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 65-

516 to add subsection (i) which provides rules pertaining to criminal history records of persons living, 

working or volunteering under the child placement agency’s sponsorship.  Any staff of a child placement 

agency who receives information under this section shall keep such confidential with limited exceptions.  

Violation of this section is an unclassified misdemeanor having a penalty of a fine of $100 per violation. 

 *Effective July 1, 2007. 

 

Senate Bill 204 amends several statutes pertaining to the Kansas Offender Registration Act 

(KORA) as follows: 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 22-4902 (Offender definitions) is amended to expand the list of offenders 

required to register to include a person convicted of aggravated trafficking or any attempt, 

conspiracy, or solicitation to commit aggravated trafficking. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 22-4902 (Offender definitions) is further amended to require registration 

 of offenders who are convicted of: 

o Unlawful manufacture or attempt to manufacture any controlled substance in violation of 

K.S.A. 65-4159; 

o Possession of precursors with intent to manufacture any controlled substance in violation 

of K.S.A. 65-7006; or 
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o K.S.A. 65-4161 (Unlawful acts relating to sale or distribution of opiates, opium, narcotic 

drugs or designated stimulants.) 

o However, registration is not required if the court makes a finding that the manufacture or 

attempted manufacture in violation of K.S.A. 65-4159 was for personal use or that the 

possession of the precursor in violation of K.S.A. 65-7006 was intended to be used to 

manufacture for personal use. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 22-4903 (Penalties) is amended to clarify that jurisdiction for prosecution 

of failure to register lies: in the county where the offender resides; is temporarily domiciled if 

required to be registered in that county; or, in the county where the offender is required to be 

registered. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 22-4904 (Registration of offender) is amended to: 

o Require written notification of a change of address to be given to the KBI as well as the 

law enforcement agency where the offender last registered; 

o Eliminate the requirement that the KBI send verification letters to the offender every 90 

days; 

o Require the offender to update and verify information and update photographs at the 

sheriff’s office 3 times/year, once during month of the person’s birth and every four 

months thereafter (Updated info and photo shall be sent to the KBI); and 

o Require that the money collected from the offender reporting requirement be used solely 

by the sheriff’s office for law enforcement and criminal prosecution purposes. 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 22-4906 (Time period in which required to register) is amended to:  

o Insert a retroactive provision in subsection (i) which requires an offender, who is moving 

to Kansas and has been convicted in another state of an offense requiring registration, to 

register in Kansas for the time required in the other state or Kansas, whichever is longer.  

This requirement now applies to convictions prior to June 1, 2006 and to persons who 

moved to Kansas prior to June 1, 2006; and 

o Insert a retroactive provision in subsection (h) pertaining to the discretion of the court to 

not require juveniles to register.  The discretionary provision now applies to adjudications 

on or after July 1, 2007 and retroactively to adjudications prior to July 1, 2007.  

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 22-4907 (Information required in registration) is amended to: 

o Require the offender to provide the registration number of each license plate assigned to a 

motor vehicle normally operated by the offender; and 

o Require the offender to provide any email addresses and online identities. 

* Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

  Senate Bill 271 pertains to insurance and relates to certain forms and rate filings, 

examination reports of insurance companies, insurance fraud, long-term care insurance, and prompt 

payment of claims.  In pertinent part, the bill amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 40-2,118(e) (fraudulent 

insurance acts) to provide that any combination of fraudulent acts as defined in subsection (a) which 

occur within a period of six consecutive months which involves $25,000 or more shall have a 

presumptive sentence of imprisonment regardless of its location on the sentencing grid block. 

 *Effective July 1, 2007. 

 

Senate Bill 324 pertains to mistreatment of dependent adults and unlawful sexual relations and 

amends the following: 

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3437 (Mistreatment of dependent adults) is amended to provide that 

taking advantage of a dependent adult’s physical or financial resources for personal or 

financial advantage by means of undue influence, coercion, harassment, duress, deception, 
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false representation or false pretense is: 

o A severity level 6, person felony if the aggregate amount is $100,000 or more, and 

o A severity level 7, person felony if the aggregate amount is at least $25,000 but less than 

$100,000.  

 K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 21-3520 (Unlawful sexual relations) is amended to broaden its application 

to include volunteers of the department of corrections or volunteers of contractors of services 

within a correctional institution, to the list of persons who could potentially engage in illegal 

acts under this statute.  In addition, the statute is amended to clarify that the definition of 

teacher would include those listed professional school employees of any grades kindergarten 

through 12.  The reference to the age of the student as being 16 or 17 years of age is stricken 

so that the statute applies if the violation is not otherwise subject to one of the child sex 

offenses and the student is enrolled at the school where the offender is employed.   

* Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

 House Substitute for Senate Bill 354 pertains to alcohol and drug addiction treatment and the 

regulation of such treatment facilities.  In pertinent part, the bill amends K.S.A. 65-4012 (Licensure of 

treatment facilities) to make a violation of the licensing requirements for public or private treatment 

programs a class C misdemeanor. 

*Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

House Bill 2010 enacts the Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act (RUAGA) to replace the 

Kansas Uniform Anatomical Gift Act of 1968, enacted in 1969.  The bill covers rules and regulations 

pertaining to the making of anatomical gifts and creates two new crimes: 

 Knowingly purchasing or selling an anatomical part for transplantation or therapy, if removal 

of a part is intended to occur after the individual’s death is a severity level 5, nonperson 

felony; and 

 Intentionally falsifying, forging, concealing, defacing or obliterating a document of gift, an 

amendment or revocation of such, or a refusal, for financial gain is a severity level 10, 

nonperson felony. 

*Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

 Senate Substitute for House Bill 2035 pertains to scrap metal dealers operating from a fixed 

location and dealing in “regulated scrap metal.”  The bill creates certain requirements for the sale of 

scrap metal by persons who are not dealers or who are not known to be an established business.  The bill 

also creates requirements for maintenance of records and establishes legal conditions for dealers to 

purchase regulated scrap metal.  An intentional violation of these provisions a class C misdemeanor upon 

a first or second offense.  A third and subsequent violation within a two-year period is a class A 

misdemeanor. 

*Effective July 1, 2007. 

 

House Bill 2081 pertains to campaign finance and elections.  In pertinent part, it creates a penalty 

for certain advertising violations and increases the severity level for certain types of fraud.  The bill 

amends:  

 K.S.A. 25-4156 (Corrupt political advertising) to provide that any paid campaign 

advertisement made by telephonic means which expressly advocates the nomination, election 

or defeat of a clearly identified candidate for state or local office and which is not followed 

by a statement indicating who paid for or sponsored the ad is a class C misdemeanor. 

 K.S.A. 25-4414 (Electronic or electromechanical voting system fraud) to increase the penalty 
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for a violation from a severity level 10, nonperson felony to a severity level 9, nonperson 

felony. 

 K.S.A. 25-4612 (Optical scanning equipment fraud) to increase the penalty for a violation 

from a severity level 10, nonperson felony to a severity level 9, nonperson felony. 

*Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

 Senate Substitute for House Bill 2171 amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 79-3606 (Tax exempt sales) to 

add subsections (xxx) and (yyy) which provide a sales tax exemptions for the Booth Theatre Foundation 

and TLC charities, and make it an unclassified misdemeanor for any contractor or any agent, employee 

or subcontractor thereof, to use or dispose of materials purchased under the tax exempt certificate of 

either entity, for any purpose other than that for which the certificate was issued without payment of the 

sales tax imposed on such materials.  

*Effective July 1, 2007. 
 

House Bill 2190 concerns the discretion of the Secretary of Corrections, or his designee.  The bill 

amends K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 75-5217 (Violations of conditions of release) to provide that the Secretary of 

Corrections, or his designee, has the authority to dismiss charges that a released inmate has violated the 

conditions of release and order the released inmate to remain on parole, conditional release or post-

release supervision. 

 *Effective July 1, 2007. 

 

House Bill 2230 pertains to program agreements between the Secretary of Corrections and 

inmates.  It amends K.S.A. 75-5210a (DOC programs) to require that inmates serving indeterminate 

sentences or off-grid sentences shall enter into a written agreement with the Secretary pertaining to the 

type of educational, vocational, mental health or other programs that the inmate must complete in order 

to be prepared for release on parole.  Failure to complete the program(s) may impact the inmate’s post-

release date. 

 *Effective July 1, 2007. 

July 1, 2008 

 

 House Bill 2707 amends several statutes relating to theft of a leased, rented or loaner vehicle, 

criminal deprivation of a motor vehicle, post incarceration supervision, substance abuse treatment, 

departures for sex crimes, and special rule sentencing for burglary with two or more prior convictions for 

felony violation of theft, burglary or aggravated burglary. 

 

Section 1. Amending K.S.A. 21-3702(a)(5),(6) 

 

Expands the current law regarding theft of property to include a leased, rented or loaner motor vehicle 

that had not been returned after notice has been given to the person who leased, rented or was loaned the 

vehicle. A three (3) day limit starts to run upon receipt or refusal of the demand letter for return of the 

vehicle. The lessor would be allowed to notify the local law enforcement agency which would be able to 

enter any such motor vehicle into any appropriate state and local computer system listing stolen motor 

vehicles. 

 

Section 2. Amending K.S.A. 21-3705 (b)(1),(2) criminal deprivation of property that is a motor vehicle, 

as defined in K.S.A. 8-1437 and amendments thereto. 
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The penalty for a first or second conviction under the above provisions would be a class A nonperson  

misdemeanor subject to a sentence of not less than 30 days and up to a year’s imprisonment and a fine of 

$100 for a first conviction and a sentence of  not less than 60 days nor more than a year’s imprisonment 

and a fine of $200 for a second conviction.  A third or subsequent conviction is now a severity level 9, 

nonperson felony.  The sentence for the felony is presumptive imprisonment (See Section 4, K.S.A. 21-

4704) 

 

 

Section 3. Amending K.S.A. 21-4608(e)(2) 

 

The period of post incarceration supervision shall be based on the longest term of post incarceration 

supervision imposed for all crimes upon which sentence was imposed or until discharge from 

supervision by the Kansas Parole Board.  The term of post incarceration supervision imposed by this 

paragraph shall apply retroactively to crimes committed prior to the effective date of this act. 

 

“Post incarceration supervision” includes parole and postrelease supervision. 

 

Section 4.  Amending K.S.A. 21-4704 (o)(1)(2)(3), (p)(1)(2)(3) 

 

Theft with no prior conviction for theft or burglary, 

Theft with one or two prior convictions for theft, burglary or aggravated burglary, or 

Burglary with one prior conviction for theft, burglary, or aggravated burglary: 

Optional nonprison sentence to participate in drug treatment program 

 

The sentence for a felony theft or burglary when the offender being sentenced has no prior 

conviction for theft or burglary, or the sentence for theft when such offender has one or two prior felony 

convictions for theft, burglary or aggravated burglary; or the sentence for burglary when such offender 

has one prior felony conviction for theft, burglary, or aggravated burglary shall be the sentence as 

provided by the sentencing guidelines except that the court may order an optional nonprison sentence for 

a defendant to participate in a drug treatment program, including but not limited to, an approved after-

care plan, if the court finds on the record that substance abuse was an underlying factor in the 

commission of the crime(s); substance abuse treatment in the community is likely to be more effective 

than a prison term in reducing the risk of offender recidivism; and participation in an intensive substance 

abuse treatment program will serve community safety interests.  A defendant sentenced to an optional 

nonprison sentence under this subsection shall be supervised by community correctional services.  The 

provisions of subsection (f)(1) of K.S.A. 21-4729 (2003 Senate Bill 123) shall apply. 

 

Theft with any combination of three or more convictions for theft, burglary or aggravated burglary, or 

burglary with any combination of two or more convictions for theft, burglary or aggravated burglary: 

Presumptive Imprisonment with possible court recommendation to participate in KDOC intensive 4 

month substance abuse treatment program. 

 

The sentence for a felony theft when such offender has any combination of three or more prior 

felony convictions for theft, burglary or aggravated burglary, or the sentence for felony burglary when 

such offender has any combination of two or more prior convictions for theft, burglary and aggravated 

burglary shall be presumed imprisonment and the defendant shall be sentenced to prison, except that the 

court may recommend that such defendant be placed in the custody of the secretary of corrections, in a 

facility designated by the secretary to participate in an intensive substance abuse treatment program, if 
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the court finds on the record that substance abuse was an underlying factor in the commission of the 

crime(s); substance abuse treatment in the community is likely to be more effective than a prison term in 

reducing the risk of offender recidivism; and participation in an intensive substance abuse treatment 

program with the possibility of an early release from imprisonment will serve community safety interests 

by promoting offender reformation. 

 

This intensive substance abuse treatment program shall be determined by the secretary of 

corrections, but shall be for a period of at least four months.  Upon successful completion of such 

intensive treatment program, the offender shall be returned to the court and the court may modify the 

sentence by directing that a less severe penalty be imposed.  If the offender’s term of imprisonment 

expires, the offender shall be placed under the applicable period of postrelease supervision.  This 

sentence shall not be considered a departure and shall not be subject to appeal. 

  

Section 5. Amending K.S.A. 21-4705(f)(1),(2) 

 

Third or subsequent conviction of K.S.A. 65-4160 or 65-4162: 

Presumptive Imprisonment with intensive substance abuse treatment; exceptions 

 

The sentence for a third or subsequent felony conviction of K.S.A. 65-4160 or 65-4162, and amendments 

thereto, shall be a presumptive term of imprisonment and the defendant shall be sentenced to prison.  

Such term of imprisonment shall be served in a facility designated by the secretary of corrections to 

participate in an intensive substance abuse treatment program.  The intensive substance abuse treatment 

program shall be determined by the secretary of corrections, but shall be for a period of at least four 

months.  Upon successful completion of such intensive treatment program, the offender shall be returned 

to the court and the court may modify the sentence by directing that a less severe penalty be imposed.  If 

the offender’s terms of imprisonment expires, the offender shall be placed under the applicable period of 

postrelease supervision. 

 

If the defendant has previously completed a certified drug abuse treatment program, has been discharged 

or refused to participate in a certified drug abuse treatment program, has completed an intensive 

substance abuse treatment program or has been discharged or refused to participate in an intensive 

substance abuse treatment program, such defendant’s term of imprisonment shall not be subject to 

modification. 

 

Section 6.  Amending K.S.A. 21-4714(b)(10) 

 

Pre-sentence investigation reports (PSIs) for a third or subsequent felony conviction of drug possession 

shall include substance abuse assessment as provided in K.S.A. 21-4729. 

 

Section 7.  Amending K.S.A. 21-4719(a) 

 

Provides that no downward dispositional departure shall be imposed for any crime of extreme sexual 

violence; further provides that the sentencing judge shall not impose a downward durational departure 

for a crime of extreme sexual violence to less than 50% of the center of the range of the sentence for 

such crime. 

 

Section 8.  Amending K.S.A. 22-3716 (a) 
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Provides that any court service officer or community correctional services officer may deputize any other 

officer with power of arrest to do so  by giving the officer a verbal statement setting forth that the 

defendant has, in the judgment of the court services officer or community correctional services officer, 

violated the conditions of the defendant’s release or a nonprison sanction. 

 

Section 9.  Amending K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 74-9501(9)(A) 

 

Establishes the Substance Abuse Policy Board, and extends the sunset provisions for the Sex Offender 

Policy Board to June 30, 2011. 

 

Section 10. Amending K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 75-5210(b) 

 

Provides that inmates sentenced to a state facility designated by the secretary to participate in an 

intensive substance abuse treatment program, shall have a presumption of minimum security status.  

These presumptions of minimum security status shall be applied to the initial security custody upon 

readmission into a correctional facility or admission into a state facility to participate in an intensive 

substance abuse treatment program, unless the security custody status is increased pursuant to policies 

adopted by the secretary.  The security custody status designed by the department shall not be subject to 

judicial review. 

 

Section 11.  Amending K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 75-5217(a) 

 

Provides any parole officer may deputize others by a verbal statement to assist in the arrest of a released 

inmate who has violated the conditions of release. 

 

Section 12. Amending K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 75-5220(e) 

 

Provides that any offender sentenced to a facility designated by the secretary of corrections to participate 

in an intensive substance abuse treatment program shall not be transferred to the state reception and 

diagnostic center but directly to such facility, unless otherwise directed by the secretary.  The secretary 

may transfer the housing and confinement of any offender sentenced to a facility to participate in an 

intensive substance abuse treatment program to any institution or facility to K.S.A. 75-5206 and 

amendments thereto. 

 

The act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the statute book. 
 

July 1, 2009 

 

2009 House Bill 2236, as amended, moves the drug crimes from Chapter 65 (Public Health) to Chapter 21 

(Crimes and Punishments) of the Kansas Statutes Annotated. In addition, the drug crimes are reorganized to 

group the crimes into the following categories: manufacture, distribution, possession, and paraphernalia. 

 

House Bill 2236, Sections 1-17 provides:  

 A section for definition of terms;  

 A declaration that the version of the law that controls would depend on the date the crime was 

committed;  
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 Manufacture of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog is a drug severity level 1 felony 

and provides for the sentence for such crime;  

 The defendant is responsible for the cost and expenses of seizure, disposition and decontamination of 

a manufacturing site;  

 Distribution of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog is a drug crime ranging from a 

class A nonperson misdemeanor to a drug severity level 1 felony, depending on the violation; 

  Possession of a controlled substance or substance analog is a class A nonperson misdemeanor or a 

drug severity 4 felony, depending on the violation;  

 For a separate crime for the use of any communication facility to commit, cause, or facilitate a crime 

of manufacture, distribution, or possession of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog; 

  For the crime of unlawfully obtaining and distributing a prescription drug;  

 For the crime of possession of precursor chemicals with the intent to use the chemicals to 

manufacture a controlled substance and for the crime of possession of drug paraphernalia;  

 For the crime of advertise, market, label, distribute or possess with the intent to distribute precursor 

chemicals or drug paraphernalia;  

 Factors to consider in determining whether an object is drug paraphernalia;  

 For the crime of unlawful abuse of toxic vapors;  

 For the crime of distribution, possession with the intent to distribute, or manufacture with the intent to 

distribute any simulated controlled substance;  

 For the crime of unlawfully distributing or possessing with the intent to distribute any substance 

which is not a controlled substance, i.e., purporting to distribute cocaine but distribute flour instead; 

  The prosecuting attorney is required to notify the Board of Pharmacy of the initiation of a drug 

prosecution for a controlled substance analog so that the Board may collect the data to recommend to 

the Legislature whether the controlled substance analog should or should not be scheduled; 

  For the crime regarding the proceeds derived from a violation of any of the previously described 

sections; and 

  Uniformity.  

 

House Bill 2236, Sections 18-63  
House Bill 2236 moves the drug crimes from Chapter 65 to Chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated.  

Chapter 65 references are the new section or sections within the bill.  

 

 

April 15, 2010 

 

2010 House Bill 2661, corrects inadvertent errors made in the recodification of the drug code in 2009 

House Bill 2336. The bill: 

 Adds a specific reference to subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 21-36a06 (possession of marijuana) 

regarding the law providing municipal court jurisdiction, or concurrent jurisdiction, to hear and 

determine cases; 

  Adds the age 18 of the offender requirement back into the law regarding the crime of distribution 

of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog; 

  Adds language to cover Schedule V controlled substances regarding the crime of possession of a 

controlled substance or controlled substance analog;  

 Conforms the penalty provision regarding prescription-only drug violations; 
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  Uses terms defined in the recodified drug code and adds the age 18 of the offender requirement 

back into the law regarding precursor offenses;  

 Adds references to the Uniform Controlled Substances Act provisions repealed in recodification 

and makes clear the old law violations and new law violations are treated the same; and 

 Clarifies that only those individuals convicted of K.S.A. 21-36a05(a)(1) are required to register 

under the Kansas Offender Registration Act and makes the provision retroactive to remove the 

registration requirement for anyone convicted under the other subsections of K.S.A. 21-36a05.  

 

July 1, 2011 

 
2010 House Bill 2668 recodifies the Kansas Criminal Code in order to do the following:  

 Revise the statutory language to add clarity;  

 Reorganize the statutes to place them in a more user-friendly order;  

 Reorder statutes to reduce their number; and  

 Repeal statutory language no longer in use.  

 

2012 

 

1) The Drug Grid is amended and expanded to five levels. 

 

The most substantial change in criminal law and procedure for the legislative session was Senate 

Substitute for Substitute House Bill 2318.  The bill amends several statutes concerning the criminal code 

and drug crimes.  A few of the highlights are outlined below: 

 

The bill adopts a new drug sentencing grid with five levels, adding a new level 2 with penalties 

falling between the previous first and second levels of the drug grid.  The grid also expands the 

presumptive imprisonment boxes to include levels 4-C and 4-D (formerly levels 3-C and 3-D), making 

the presumed sentence for certain offenders convicted of level 4 crimes imprisonment, and expands the 

border boxes to include levels 5-C and 5-D (formerly levels 4-C and 4-D), allowing courts to impose an 

optional non-prison sentence for certain offenders convicted of level 5 offenses. 

 

Rather than enhancing severity levels of offenses based upon the number of convictions, the bill 

imposes new felony classifications on the drug grid based on quantity for the crimes of distribution or 

possession with the intent to distribute the drugs listed in K.S.A. 21-5705(a), including 

lisdexamfetamine, a schedule II substance.  Exceptions to these penalties include different quantities for 

convictions involving, most notably, marijuana, heroin and methamphetamine. Violations occurring 

within 1,000 feet of any school property increase the severity level by one level. 

 

Cultivation of a controlled substance listed in subsection K.S.A. 21-5705(a) has the following felony 

classifications on the drug grid based on the number of plants cultivated: 

1. More than 4, but fewer than 50, severity level 3; 

2. At least 50, but fewer than 100, severity level 2; or 

3. 100 or more, severity level 1. 

 

In addition, the bill deletes the packaging or repackaging of a substance or labeling or relabeling its 

container from the definition of "manufacture," and clarifies that it does not include the addition of 
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dilutants or adulterants. It also amends the definition of "drug paraphernalia" to clarify that it does not 

include certain drug precursors.   

 

Next, it amends as follows the severity levels for a violation of K.S.A. 21-5703, manufacture or 

attempted manufacture of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog:  

1. Changes a violation from a drug severity level 1 felony to a drug severity level 2 felony for a 

first conviction; a second or subsequent conviction for manufacture would be a drug severity 

level 1 felony; and 

2. Specifies that manufacture of methamphetamine would remain a drug severity level 1 

felony. 

 

The sentencing criteria for 2003 Senate Bill 123 offenders is also modified by the bill.  Only 

offenders assigned a high risk status as determined by a drug abuse assessment, and a moderate or high 

risk status, as determined by the criminal risk-need assessment will be committed to the SB 123 drug-

abuse treatment program. Offenders so committed will still be supervised by community correctional 

services. If offenders are found to be ineligible based on the result of the criminal risk assessment, they 

will be supervised either by community correctional services or court services.  A second chance 

provision has now been inserted in the SB 123 statute, allowing the court to order an offender who does 

not meet the drug risk assessment level requirements to undergo an additional drug risk assessment while 

the offender is on probation and to undergo drug abuse treatment if the offender is determined to meet 

the risk assessment level requirement. The offender will pay the costs of that assessment. 

  

2) The DUI Test Refusal bill is enacted.  

 
House Substitute for Senate Bill 60 serves as a follow-up to 2011 House Substitute for Senate Bill 6, 

which includes extensive revisions to the Kansas DUI law.  Some of these changes, including DUI test 

refusal, are as follows: 

 

The crime of refusing to submit to a test to determine the presence of alcohol or drugs is created. 

Under this section, it is unlawful to refuse to submit to or complete such a test if a person has a prior test 

refusal or a prior conviction for DUI or commercial DUI, any of which occurred (1) on or after July 1, 

2001, and (2) when such person was at least 18 years of age. Thus, a first-time test refusal does not 

constitute criminal conduct unless a person has a previous DUI or commercial DUI conviction as 

specified in the section. The penalties for a first conviction of test refusal are the same as the penalties 

for a second DUI, the penalties for a second test refusal conviction are the same as the penalties for a 

third DUI, and the penalties for a third or subsequent test refusal conviction are the same as the penalties 

for a fourth or subsequent DUI conviction. The evaluation and procedural requirements for this crime are 

the same as those for DUI, as amended by this bill.  The implied consent statute is amended to include 

information regarding the test refusal crime in the oral and written notice given to persons subject to 

testing.  Specific reference is made in determining the number of convictions under the new law, which 

includes many offenses that are DUI-related offenses.   

 

Similarly, SB 60 amends the DUI and commercial DUI statutes to incorporate comparable provisions 

requiring the consideration of convictions of related crimes, including the new crime of test refusal, in 

determining the number of the current conviction.  However, the provisions in the DUI and commercial 

DUI statutes would not exclude convictions before the age of 18. 
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K.S.A. 8-1008, regarding alcohol and drug evaluations, is amended to establish a minimum fee of 

$150 for the required alcohol and drug evaluation. Evaluation providers would be required to agree to 

evaluate indigent defendants at no up-front cost and have the evaluation fee be assessed to the defendant 

as part of the judgment. The implementation of a provision requiring the use of a standardized substance 

use evaluation approved by the Secretary of Social and Rehabilitation Services would be delayed until 

July 1, 2013. This statute, as well as the test refusal, DUI, and commercial DUI sections, are amended so 

that evaluations pursuant to this section would not be required for third and subsequent refusal or 

commercial DUI convictions or for third or fourth and subsequent DUI convictions. 

 

K.S.A. 8-1014, governing the administrative penalties for test refusal or failure for an alcohol or 

drug-related conviction, is amended to add an additional year of interlock restriction for a test refusal. 

  

3) The Kansas Offender Registration Act (KORA) is procedurally amended.  
 

House Bill 2568 makes several changes to KORA.  A few of these include:   

 

Registration of offenders now takes place at the time of conviction rather than at sentencing.  K.S.A. 

2011 Supp. 22-4904 provides that courts are required to register offenders at conviction or adjudication 

(added this year), rather than sentencing or disposition, and clarifies the other responsibilities of the court 

with respect to offender registration at that time, including additional requirements if the offender is 

released. The court must ensure the age of the victim is documented in the journal entry at the time of 

sentencing, rather than at conviction, as there is no journal entry at the time of conviction.   

 

HB 2568 also amends K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 22-4906 and the 15-year registration requirement for some 

crimes by removing the requirement under sexual battery that one of the parties be less than 18 years of 

age and adding convictions of any person required by court order to register for an offense not otherwise 

required by KORA.  Similarly, the lifetime registration requirement for the crime of aggravated human 

trafficking is amended by removing the requirement that the victim be less than 18 years of age. 

 

K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 22-4909(c) prohibits internet websites sponsored or created by a registering law 

enforcement agency or the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) to contain the address of any place 

where an offender is an employee or any other information about where the offender works. 

 

4) Lifetime electronic monitoring for certain sex offenses is made mandatory upon release from 

prison. 

 
House Bill 2465 adds a new provision to K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 21-6604. Subsection (r) requires, in 

addition to any other penalty or disposition imposed by law for a person sentenced to imprisonment for 

certain sex offenses as defined in K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 21-6627 for crimes committed on or after July 1, 

2006, that the court shall order that a defendant be electronically monitored upon release from 

imprisonment for the defendant’s lifetime and that the defendant shall reimburse the state for all or part 

of the cost of such monitoring as determined by the Prisoner Review Board. 
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2013 

 

1) HB 2170 makes comprehensive changes to probation and postrelease supervision procedure 

 

House Bill 2170 addresses numerous aspects regarding probation, including: 

 

A) Graduated Sanctions – Criminal justice research has shown that providing a tier of increasingly 

severe penalties for successive probation violations is more effective in penalizing violations while 

reducing the number of probation revocations. Offenders who commit technical violations will be 

subjected to ‘quick dip’ sanctions, which consist of 2-3 days in local jail, upon their first violation. Upon 

a second violation, the offender can be subject to either the quick dip sanction, or a sanction of up to 120 

or 180 days in prison. Upon a third violation, the offender may be subject to one of the aforementioned 

sanctions or the full revocation of their probation, requiring them to serve their full underlying prison 

sentence. Violators who abscond from probation or commit a new crime while on probation may be fully 

revoked at any time. In addition, the court may revoke the probation of a violator whose well-being will 

not be served by a graduated sanction or who poses a public safety risk. 

B) Supervising Officer Quick Dip Authority – Research shows that providing swift and certain 

sanctions against probationers who commit technical violations is more effective in curbing undesirable 

probationer behavior than allowing technical violations to build up over time, potentially ultimately 

resulting in probation revocation a later date. House Bill 2170 provides a new tool to ensure that 

violations are dealt with quickly and appropriately soon after they occur.  The court services officer or 

community corrections officer in charge of probation supervision is granted the ability, with approval of 

their supervisor, to authorize a 2-3 day quick dip in local jail when an offender commits a technical 

violation and waives their right to a violation hearing before the court. At sentencing, the court may 

choose to withhold the supervising officer’s authority to authorize the quick dip sanction. 

C) Presumptive Discharge from Probation – Research has shown that low risk probationers who 

comply with the terms of their probation are less likely to recidivate, and therefore supervision resources 

may be directed towards higher risk probationers. In order to allow this, House Bill 2170 creates a 

presumption of discharge for all probationers who score low risk on a criminal risk-need assessment, 

have paid all restitution and have complied with the terms of their probation for a period of 12 months. 

Unless the prosecutor or court objects, the offender may be discharged from probation by the court upon 

meeting the aforementioned requirements. However, an offender who is released by presumptive 

discharge and commits another felony during the time in which they would have been on probation may 

be subject to imprisonment for such crime, even if it the new crime has a presumptive nonprison 

sentence. See Special Sentencing Rule #40.  

 

House Bill 2170 also makes substantial changes regarding postrelease supervision: 

A) Every Offender whose Probation is Revoked Must Serve Postrelease – Research shows that 

offenders who are released directly from prison without any continuing supervision may be more likely 

to recidivate. In addition, some probationers may have been incentivized to have their probation revoked 

in order to serve a short prison sentence and then be relieved of their ongoing supervision. In order to 

remedy this, House Bill 2170 requires all offenders, including SB 123 drug treatment participants, who 

commit their crime on or after July 1, 2013 to serve a period of postrelease supervision if they are 

revoked from probation or complete their underlying prison sentence while serving a 120 or 180-day 

prison sanction.  

B) Good Time and Program Credits are Not Added to Period of Postrelease Supervision – Prior to 

July 1, 2013, offenders who earned credit against the length of their prison sentence had this credit added 

to the length of their period of postrelease supervision. House Bill 2170 removes this additional 
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postrelease supervision time for all offenders other than certain sex offenders.     

C) The Prisoner Review Board May Grant Early Discharge – The Prisoner Review Board may, in its 

discretion, provide early discharge from postrelease supervision for offenders who have paid all 

restitution and met any other criteria required by the Board.  

 

In addition, House Bill 2170 authorizes the Kansas Sentencing Commission to: 

A) Study the impact of supervision of felony offenders and the impact on recidivism  

B) Make statewide supervision placement decisions based on the criminogenic risk-need of the 

offender.  

 

2) HB 2034 addresses human trafficking and amends provisions related to certain sex crimes 

 

House Bill 2034 designates the Human Trafficking Advisory Board to study issues relating to sexual 

exploitation and trafficking of adults and minors in Kansas. The board shall be funded by newly-imposed 

fines of $2500 to $5000 for certain crimes involving sexual relations or human trafficking.  

 

The bill creates new procedures to protect and assist victims of human trafficking or commercial 

sexual exploitation, including placing the child in protective custody and delivery to a staff secure 

facility.  

 

HB 2034 also creates the crime of ‘commercial sexual exploitation of a child’, which is an off-grid 

offense when the offender is 18 or older and the victim is under the age of 14. In addition, the bill 

replaces the crime of ‘prostitution’ with ‘selling sexual relations, replaces the crime of ‘promoting 

prostitution’ with ‘promoting the sale of sexual relations’, and replaces the crime of ‘patronizing a 

prostitute’ with ‘buying sexual relations’ and changes the penalties for these respective crimes.    

 

3) Kansas RICO Act provides prosecutors new tools to combat criminal street gang crime 

 

Senate Bill 16 targets criminal street gangs and other criminal organizations engaged in human 

trafficking or controlled substance manufacture, cultivation or distribution. It provides prosecutors with 

expanded subpoena power to investigate such criminal activities and the ability to petition the court for a 

non-disclosure order for a period of up to 90 days. 

 

Violation of the Kansas RICO act is a severity level 2, person felony. The court may impose a fine of 

up to three times the gross value gained or three times the gross loss caused, whichever is greater, if the 

defendant gained pecuniary value or caused personal injury, property damage, or other loss.  Violation of 

the act is also grounds for forfeiture of all instrumentalities and proceeds of the crime.   

 

4) Statute of limitations for rape and sexually violent crimes is extended 

 

House Bill 2252 extends the length of the statute of limitations for bringing prosecutions for 

aggravated criminal sodomy and rape. Prosecutions for these crimes may now be brought at any time.  

 

The bill also provides that prosecutions for sexually violent crimes may be brought within 10 years if 

the victim is 18 years of age or older, or within 10 years of the victim’s 18th birthday if such victim is 

under 18 at the time of the offense. A prosecution for a sexually violent crime may also be brought 

within 1 year of DNA testing conclusively identifying the suspect, whichever is later.  

 



KSG Desk Reference Manual 2014 
Page 46 of 49 

The bill will extend the length of the statute of limitations for all of the aforementioned crimes whose 

statute of limitations had not expired by the effective date of the bill, July 1, 2013.  

 

5) Legislature enacts expansive firearms legislation 

 

The legislature enacted several bills dealing with the possession and registration of firearms: 

 House Bill 2052, which amended the Personal and Family Protection Act and, most notably, 

expanded concealed carry in certain buildings and government facilities.  

 House Bill 2278 carves out a specific penalty for theft, criminal deprivation of property, and 

burglary, when the item in question is a firearm. 

 Senate Bill 21 makes changes concerning concealed carry licenses and firearm possession by 

convicted felons who have had their felony conviction expunged. 

 Senate Bill 102, also known as the Second Amendment Protection Act, excludes firearms, 

ammunition and accessories made and owned in Kansas from federal regulation. It also makes it a crime 

to enforce federal regulations on such firearms, accessories and ammunition, and provides the Attorney 

General authority to seek injunctive relief to enjoin federal officials from doing so.  

 

6) Special Session September, 2013 - Legislature amends provisions for imposition of certain 

mandatory minimum sentences 

 

2013 House Bill 2002, which was passed by the legislature during a special session in September 

2013, addresses the United States Supreme Court decision in Alleyne v. U.S., which held that factors 

which increase a mandatory minimum sentence must be found, beyond a reasonable doubt, by a jury. 

Prior to the passage of 2013 House Bill 2002, the Kansas procedure allowed the court, not they jury, to 

make such findings. HB 2002 provides offenders, who were convicted of premeditated first degree 

murder and sentenced to a mandatory minimum sentence of 40 or 50 years by the court prior to the 

passage of 2013 House Bill 2002, a procedure to appeal such sentence, and the jury, not the court, shall 

be the finder of fact on the issue of the increased mandatory minimum. 
 

2014 

 

 In the 2014 Legislative Session, the Legislature enacted several significant statutory changes 

affecting the general practice of criminal law and those specifically affecting sentencing law and 

procedure.  We highlight the following: 

 

1) Senate Substitute for HB 2480 followed up on the graduated probation violation sanctions 

provided in 2013 HB 2170 

 

 Senate Substitute for House Bill 2448 (hereafter referred to as HB 2448) contains numerous 

amendments to 2013 House Bill 2170, which created the graduated sanction scheme for the disposition 

of probation violators.  

 

 HB 2448 does not change the fundamental structure of this graduated sanction scheme, but rather 

seeks to clarify some areas of confusion or conflict with other provisions of law. The most substantial 

changes are as follows: 
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1) “Quick dips” provisions clarified 

a. The quick dip language in HB 2170 proved to be a source of confusion, so HB 2448 

seeks to clarify several items: 

i. Quick dips may be imposed in consecutive 2 or 3-day periods only.  

ii. The total of all quick dips imposed by both the court and all supervising 

officers may not exceed a total of 18 days during the offender’s term of 

probation.  

 

2) Quick dips may be imposed upon an offender on probation for a misdemeanor or 

nongrid felony (ie. DUI, breath test refusal, domestic battery) 

a. The court or supervising officer may impose a 2 or 3-day quick dip sanction upon an 

offender convicted of a misdemeanor or a nongrid felony. See K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-

3716(b)(3)(B)(ii).   

 

3) Court may impose up to 60 days in county jail, but not in addition to another graduated 

sanction 

a. HB 2448 moved the language authorizing the court to impose confinement for up to 

60 days in county jail from K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6604(a)(3) to 22-3716(c)(11). The 

court had and will continue to have the authority to impose confinement in a county 

jail for up to 60 days upon finding the offender has violated the conditions of 

probation. However, the new language in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3716(c)(11) clarifies 

that this period of confinement is separate from the other graduated sanctions (ie 

quick dips, 120/180-day prison sanctions) and may not be imposed at the same time as 

these other sanctions.   

 

4) Prior jail credit may not be applied to decrease length of 120/180-day prison sanctions 

a. HB 2448 amended K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3716(c)(1)(C) and (c)(1)(D) to provide that 

the 120 or 180-day sanction shall begin upon pronouncement by the court. Prior 

incarceration time, such as the time an offender spends awaiting a probation violation 

hearing, shall not be counted towards service on the prison sanction. However, time 

spent in county jail awaiting transport to a DOC facility after imposition of the 

sanction may be counted. 

 

5) Presumptive Discharge provision in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6608(d) has been modified  

a.  K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6608 provided that an offender may be discharged from 

probation if they are low risk, have paid all restitution and are found to have been 

compliant with the terms of their probation for 12 consecutive months. Under HB 

2170, the offender would be discharged unless the court found substantial and 

compelling reasons to deny the discharge of the offender, but HB 2448 changes this 

standard of review from “substantial and compelling reasons for denial” to “clear and 

convincing evidence that denial of discharge will serve community safety interests.”   
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6) Nongrid felony offenders are not subject to 120/180-day prison sanctions  

a. HB 2448 amended K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3716(b)(3)(A) and (b)(3)(B) to clarify that 

an offender convicted of a nongrid felony is not eligible to serve a prison sanction 

pursuant to 22-3716(c)(1)(C) or (c)(1)(D). 

 

7) Concurrent probation terms require concurrent sanctions 

a. HB 2448 seeks to clarify in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3716(c)(10) that an offender 

serving multiple probation periods concurrently is not eligible for multiple 

consecutive violation sanctions.  

b. For example, an offender serving two separate concurrent probation periods who 

commits a second or subsequent probation violation may not receive multiple 

consecutive prison sanctions. Rather, the court may impose a single prison sanction of 

either 120 or 180 days on each case, to be served concurrently.    

 

8) Graduated Sanctions apply to all probationers, regardless of their date of conviction 

a. HB 2448 adds additional language in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3716(c)(12) to clarify that 

the graduated sanction provisions shall apply to any probation violator, regardless of 

the date on which they committed their original crime of conviction.  

 

2) New legislation aims to protect elder persons from financial and physical abuse 

 

 Senate Bill 256 creates the new crime of Mistreatment of an Elder Person, which is defined as 1) 

taking the personal property or financial resources of an elder person by taking control, title use or 

management of an elder person’s property or resources, or 2) omission or deprivation of treatment, 

goods or services that are necessary to maintain physical or mental health of such elder person. The new 

crime, located in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417(b) mirrors the existing crime of Mistreatment of a 

Dependent adult, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417(a). “Elder person” is defined as any person 70 years of age 

or older.  

 

 House Bill 2433 amends the Kansas Uniform Securities Act by providing for a penalty enhancement 

for violation of the Act when the victim of such violation is an elder person. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 17-

12a508(a)(6) states that a conviction for an intentional violation of the Act shall be elevated by one 

severity level when the victim is an elder person.  

 

3) Legislature expands the range of penalties for Medicaid Fraud 

 

 Senate Bill 271 expands the range of penalties for violations of the crime of Medicaid Fraud, K.S.A. 

2014 Supp. 21-5927. The amended statute penalizes each individual count of Medicaid Fraud, and 

provides a corresponding penalty based upon the aggregate amount of payments illegally claimed. 

Penalties for a violation range up to a severity level 3 for illegally claimed payments totaling $250,000 or 

more. In addition, the legislature added new provisions which penalize Medicaid Fraud resulting in great 

bodily harm as a severity level 4, person felony, and Medicaid Fraud resulting in death as a severity level 

1, person felony.  
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4) Legislature enacts new provisions relating to firearms and weapons 

 

 House Bill 2578 makes numerous amendments pertaining to the possession and disposition of 

firearms and weapons. In particular, the bill amends the crime of Criminal Possession of a Firearm by a 

Convicted Felon, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6304, to Criminal Possession of a Weapon by a Convicted 

Felon, reflecting a change in the statute which prohibits a convicted felon from possessing either a 

firearm or a knife, including any dangerous or deadly cutting instruments.  

 

 The bill also amends the Crime of Criminal Use of Weapons, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6301, by making 

it unlawful to possess a dangerous knife or similar cutting instrument with the intent to use such weapon 

unlawfully against another.  

 

 In addition, HB 2578 repeals K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 75-7c12 and enacts the new crime of Possession of 

a Firearm Under the Influence, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6332, a class A misdemeanor. Possession of a 

Firearm Under the Influence is defined as knowingly possessing or carrying a loaded firearm on or about 

such person, or within such person’s immediate access or control while in a vehicle, while under the 

influence of alcohol or drugs to such a degree as to render such person incapable of safely operating a 

firearm.   

 

5) Court authorized to order military veterans with mental illness to seek VA treatment 

 

 Senate Substitute for HB 2655 allows any veteran of the United States Armed Forces who is 

convicted of a criminal offense to assert that they committed such offense as a result of mental illness. 

The court shall hold a fact-finding hearing prior to sentencing to determine whether the veteran meets the 

criteria established in the bill, and if so, the court may order the veteran to undergo mental health 

treatment as a condition of probation. The bill also allows veterans in the SB 123 program to undergo 

substance abuse treatment at a VA facility. Please see K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6630.  


